Posted by: rundadrun | November 9, 2012

Well, that’s a load off my…ME!

For years I have used all the excuses for my ever-growing weight problem.  Part of my problem was I never looked all that big, but I was carrying a lot of extra weight.  And with my family history, that was NOT a good thing.  But the excuses were always there…”muscle weighs more than fat, I am stocky(or big-boned), BMI really isn’t all that accurate if you are athletic…I used them all.  It wasn’t until my Doctor told me that I was diabetic that I finally made the decision to stop lying to myself.  I was overweight and I needed to fix it!

It is amazing what I was overlooking all these years.  It is not normal to buy a movie size box of Hot Tamales and eat them all by yourself in 10 minutes!  But, I had convinced myself that somehow I was the exception since I am a runner.  Nevermind that all the sugar was slowly pushing me into diabetes. I was literally addicted to sugar.

But now that I have faced my reality, I am doing something about it.  As I have already mentioned, I am using some great technological tools, like My Fitness Pal and now, Healthy Dining(both free on iPhone) to keep an eye on my eating. And it is working! 

Yesterday I looked down at the scale to see 169.4!  I have not been in the 160’s in a LONG time! And today, it is lower still!  I am noticing so many changes in my life.  One of them is a big improvement in my running.  I have dropped more than 2 minutes per mile off my pace and I am looking at running a 5+ minute personal record next weekend in my first 5K as a Red Strider!  I am able to run further and with less stress than I have in years!  And no wonder, I have lost over 17 pounds in about 2 months! 

So, I wanted to encourage all of you who are struggling with losing weight, as I know most of us are.  It is possible!  But I found that I had to do a couple of things for my weight to start coming off.  Here they are:

  1. Own it!  I had to take personal responsibility for my weight and my diabetes.  I had to quit blaming my genes and the world and start looking in the mirror for the cause of my problems.
  2. Have a plan!  I researched and found some great tools that helped me plan my weight loss.  If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.
  3. Take your time.  I didn’t gain my weight overnight, and I knew that I couldn’t lose it overnight. 
  4. Move it!  For me, it is running.  For my wife, it is walking and WiiFit.  But get moving!  All the latest weight loss schemes tell you just sprinkle some of their magic dust on your food, or take this pill or avoid all of this certain food, and the truth of the matter is that we ALL need to move!  I have great reduced my food intake, but the exercise is the key!

So, please join me in taking a load off.  All the experts say that just a 10% drop in weight has a huge effect on your blood sugar and your overall health.  Set you goal and let’s hit it!

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. you are an inspiration. thank you.

    • You are very welcome! thanks for stopping by. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

