Posted by: rundadrun | October 28, 2012

Amazing day that made me forget my diabetes for a while!

I must be honest, I have been rather obsessed with my diabetes for the last 3 weeks.  I guess that is natural when you first get diagnosed.  We tend to dwell on things that have the ability to take our life.  But even though I have been very positive about this disease, I must admit, it is never far from the front of my mind. 

Yesterday that changed.  For at least a few hours, I forgot about blood glucose monitors, A1c and Metformin and just lived life.  The occasion that brought this about was my son’s Cross Country Regional Championship race.  Between being an assistant coach and his dad, I let the amazing accomplishments of my son’s season take center stage and watched him run the race of his life.  In doing so, he qualified for the Division 1 Ohio State Championships next weekend!  He ran with the best in the region, finished in the top 10 and got his ticket to State!  I was all over the course cheering him and his teammates for the longest 16 minutes of my life.  But then after I saw all 7 of my guys go through the homestretch, I made a beeline for the finish area to see MY son.  I must tell you, I was so overcome with joy for him that I had a very hard time running through the crowds.  Something got in my eyes I think, ’cause they were really watering something fierce.  🙂  When I finally got close enough to get his attention I had one of the best moments I have ever had with him.  We held each other for, what at any other time would have been awkwardly long, and I just cried and told him how proud I was of him. He was a bit emotional as well and it was just a perfect father/son moment.

I am very proud of the runner that my son has become and I can’t wait to see him in the State championship race this next weekend.  But more than anything, I am proud of the man he is fast becoming.  One of the goals for him this year was to lead his team to State, and it became apparent not long after his finish that it was not going to happen.  So, he was confronted with trying to celebrate his individual accomplishment while having to console his teammates at the same time.  I saw my son struggle with his emotions as he held his friends who felt as if they had let everyone down.  I saw him showing the love of God in his actions.  And what more could any parent want.  Victory is not always easy on those who gain it.  I saw a young man who was able to put his own joy on hold while he suffered with his teammates over missing the cut by only 3 points!  I have never been so proud of him.

After helping his friends with their hurt, he was able to take the stage and receive some great kudos for a great race and season.  I am sure that I will always remember seeing him on stage, but I think he did more good in helping his hurting friends than he will ever know.

So, I hope you can see how forgetting my diabetes for a while was a great thing.  I hope that whatever struggles you have in life, you are able to put them in your pocket once in a while and LIVE life. 

God bless and happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Awesome. And I think we all need to live a little and forget problems for a while. 🙂

    • Thanks! Now I get to forget again this weekend when he runs at State!


Leave a Reply

Categories

