Posted by: rundadrun | October 20, 2012

Say hello to my little friend…My Fitness Pal. :)

Since learning of my diabetes a couple of weeks ago, I have gone into a whole new gear where weight loss and healthy eating are concerned.  It has been quite a change for me.  First, I had to admit that I was eating a LOT!  I would bet I am not the only one around who had little or no idea of the amount of food I was consuming.  A lot of that has to do with our totally misguided idea of portion control.  It isn’t hard to see where this starts if you ever eat at a restaurant.  The typical serving at most popular chains is roughly the amount needed to feed an entire family.  My favorite lunch stop used to be Applebee’s.  I loved their Grilled Chicken Asian Salad…until I found out it was over 1200 calories! So much for a healthy lunch. 

So, when I started getting serious about losing weight and watching my sugar intake, I started using the iPhone app, “My Fitness Pal”.  It is also available on other devices, including online.  With this app, I have been able to not only track my food intake, but pre-check items that I am thinking about eating and making a more informed decision on what I eat.  It is very much like having an accountability partner.  I think twice about eating that snack when I know I have to log it into My Fitness Pal.  And I have added my wife and a good friend who also want to lose some weight as friends on the site, thus adding an element of partnership.  We all help each other.  So far, I have lost almost 10 pounds in just over 3 weeks and I am feeling great!

And you can set it up to fit your diet needs.  I am wanting to drop weight at a quick pace, so I set it up with an aggressive goal.  It calculates my daily calorie and nutrition needs and gives me a daily goal. And all the exercise I log in just adds calories I can eat! It is so much easier to motivate myself to get out and run when I know I get to eat a little more. 🙂 

So, take a look at this great app and see what you think.  I think you too will be amazed at just how much you are eating.  And the great thing is, I am not hungry all the time, because I am able to snack at smart times with smart snacks. 

Next post, I will share my other new buddy with you…Glucose Buddy! 

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. I was shocked, SHOCKED I say, when I totaled up my breakfast calories last week on Wed. Over 800 for two English muffins with butter and peanut butter. My eyes were opened and now I’m counting everything I eat.

    Dave over at bigmanrunning turned me on to everydayhealth.com for their calorie counter.

    Glad to see you’re taking your diabetes head on; I see too many people at the dialysis center who didn’t. Happy running and counting!
    Rusty

    • It is amazing what you see when you look at nutritional values! Thanks for the comment and the tip for another calorie counter.


Leave a Reply

Categories

