Posted by: rundadrun | October 18, 2012

Hi, my name is Rundad and I am a diabetic.

After years of trying to outrun it, Type 2 Diabetes has finally caught up with me.  On October 6th, I recieved my diagnoses and my world changed completely.  To be quite honest, it was almost a relief to get the actual diagnosis.  I have had this hanging over my head all my life, and for the past few years I have actually been almost paranoid about it.  Why?  First, both my parents, my maternal grandmother and my older brother have Type 2. So right out of the gate, I had a 50% chance of also developing it.  And truth be told, I have used that as an excuse for the last 10 years!  It is now time to step up and own this thing.  Yes, I have a family history.  But I should have been doing so much more to guard against this, and I just wasn’t.

But you’re a runner!  I have heard that so many times in the past 2 weeks I can’t keep track.  Yes, I am a runner, but I am (or was) a total and complete sugar junky!  I had no problem killing of a large box of “Hot Tamales” while driving 100 miles.  This was my life.  I figured if I ran 4 or 5 miles when I got to my hotel, it was all good.  I could not have been more wrong. 

But you aren’t fat.  I need to take a minute and apologize here.  I am the one who said that to myself more than anyone said it to me.  I had fallen for the stereotype that Type 2 is a disease of the fat and lazy.  And it is easy to fall for that, as the numbers are staggering when you look at national statistics for obesity and Type 2.  So, I kept trying to make myself feel better by playing the fat card.  Truth be told, with my family history, I should have known better.  I am truly sorry for my being so judgemental.  This disease can hit anyone, not just “Biggest Loser” contestants.  I am the reason for this, and I am the one who needs to own it. And I was just making excuses, cuase realistically, I really had gotten way too heavy.

So, where to from here?  First of all, I am already down over 9 pounds in 3 weeks.  Who would have thought that by actually watching what I eat and getting MORE exercise, I could start actually losing the weight I needed to for years!  I am monitoring my blood glucose levels several times and day and I am on Metformin.  My levels have dropped to very good levels and I have more energy than I have had in months.

Oddly enough, I am very positive about my diabetes.  I really feel like I can help others and show that you don’t have to fit a certain profile to be diabetic.  I have signed up for my first “Red Striders” race with the American Diabetes Association and I am looking forward to running in my red hat!  It is so easy to “give God the glory” when things are going smoothly.  I fully intend to praise Him even more in this struggle.  Time to live Philippians 4:13 and Colossians 3:17.

One of my early memories of my grandmother is of her letting me inject her insulin.  She was so open with us grandkids about her diabetes, and I am thankful for that.  I hope that through my being an open book as I deal with this that I help educate those around me.  But mostly, I hope they see a man who handles adversity in a God honoring way.

So, be on the lookout for a guy in a red hat who is looking skinnier every time you see him, and ask him how God has blessed him today.  And then don’t be surprised if he tells you! 🙂

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. You’re an inspiration, Rob. I wish I was half as good as you at seeing the good in things!

    • Thanks Bryan! Making lemonade is much better than getting stuck with a bunch of lemons! 🙂

  2. Thank you for sharing your story with us! How wonderful to see you mentioning giving God the glory, even in these times, because He is always part of our successes. And, you will have many successes when it comes to diabetes, of that I am sure! I’ll be checking back on your blog, anxious to see those numbers coming down. If you are curious, I’m a co-blogger on a wordpress blog at solutionsfort2diabetes.com. The other blogger is a T2 diabetic named Phil, who faced diabetes head-on and brought his A1C down from 13.1 to around 6.1! I work as a pharmacist, so I provide a weekly overview of each of the diabetic medications that we use for T2 diabetics.

    Good luck and God bless!
    Dr. K

    • Thank you Dr. K! I will be checking out your blog! It is such a big learning curve right now, and I appreciate your help. 🙂 God bless and happy running.
      Rundad


Leave a Reply

Categories

