Posted by: rundadrun | August 5, 2012

“Chariots of Fire”, more than just a cool song to run to in slow motion!

In preparing to teach the high school class this morning at church, I was going through my normal routine.  Basically, I was thinking a lot and preparing very little, counting on my vast wisdom to pull me through. 🙂  As usually happens, God once again showed me how woefully lacking I am in that category! 

I had the basic lesson in my head, which is based around helping our teens make their faith their own and using it to shine God’s Love to others.  I always struggle knowing how to best reach these amazing kids.  I had planned to talk about Paul’s amazing conversion story and how it changed him in every way.  I was going to end with Philippians 2:14,15 where Paul tells the Philippians to “shine as stars in the universe” because of what God has done for them. I was trying to think of a modern example of this, especially with the Olympics being contested right now.  Once again, my lovely and wise wife came to my rescue and suggest Eric Liddell. Thanks for that honey!

If you are unfamiliar with the name, think of the movie, “Chariots of Fire” form 1981…or ask someone over 40 to tell you about it. 🙂  If you need a recent reminder, this was the scene that “Mr. Bean” spoofed during the opening ceremonies last week.  Mr. Liddell was a Scottish missionary who competed in the 1924 Olympic Games in Paris.  He was known as the “Flying Scotsman” after the famed locomotive.  He is a man that every Christian, especially Christian athletes, should study.  He was the pride of Scotland because of his speed in the 100 and 200 yard dash.  More importantly, he was a man who put God first in his life.  After finding out that the prelims of his primary race,  the 100, were being run on Sunday, Mr. Liddell chose to stand on his belief that he should not run on the Sabbath.  He refused to betray his convictions and was eliminated from what would have been a likely gold medal.  He then went on to run the 200 and win the bronze medal.  But his biggest glory was yet to come.  He ran the 400 and won!  In the movie, and according to many reports, Liddell was handed a note by an American on the way to the starting blocks with the words of I Samuel 2:30 written on it.  “Those who honor me, I will honor. ”

What a great lesson!  If we honor God with our life, He will honor us.  That is what I have been telling teens for years, but Eric Liddell lived it so beautifully.  When we put God first in whatever we do, He will shine in our lives.  We will “shine like stars” to this world that needs God so badly.  It brings a new light to the Colossians 3:17.  “Whatever you do whether in word or deed, do it ALL in the name of the Lord Jesus”.  Thank you Mr. Liddell for a great example.

Happy running,

Rundad

Leave a Reply

Categories

