Posted by: rundadrun | August 3, 2012

The road back!

A little over a year ago, this is the road that nearly ended my running career.  This beat up old road that is closed to traffic is the first part of one of cross country team’s long run trails.  I had already rolled my ankle a couple of times on the way out, and I was just about 50 meters into the return trip when I rolled my ankle very badly and knew that it was something I could not just walk off.  The injury was followed by a few weeks of trying to ignore the pain and keep running, and then a couple of months of wearing a boot.  Eventually, I had to have my right ankle rebuilt on December 12 of 2011.  After surgery, I was told that most of the cartilage had to be removed from the ankle and I was most likely done as a runner.  This was followed by a couple of months of rehab and prayer.  Quite honestly, I was more than a little depressed over the thought of never running again. Those of you who are as addicted as I am know what I am talking about.  But, with time and rehab and again, PRAYER, I was able to hit the road(after another short break for neck surgery).

Today, I came back and ran it for the first time since that day. I am not going to tell you that the skies opened up and angels sang, but it was a very big deal for me.  I have been afraid of the sick feeling of my ankle giving way again, knowing that there would be no coming back this time.  I will admit that I was singing “I can do all things” in my head the whole time I was on the road.  As I have written before, Philippians 4:13 is a very important verse in my life, and I used it today as a mantra.

So, after finishing the run, I was amazed that the world still looked the same.  No one was coming up to me and cheering my major accomplishment.  I did however get cheered on by some of my runners while out running with them(okay, behind them and getting lapped by them 🙂 ).  But to the rest of the world, my major triumph was not even on the radar.  And that is okay.  I know how big a deal it was in my life, and that is enough.  But that is how it is with so many of our triumphs.  Whether we are celebrating 1 year clean and sober, 5 years cancer free, 15 years tobacco free or something as small as beating the road that once beat you, sometimes we are the only ones that are aware of how big it is to us. 

Celebrate your triumphs! 

Happy running,

Rundad

Leave a Reply

Categories

