Posted by: rundadrun | August 1, 2012

“I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride my bike.”

I have to admit that I have a very hard time with cross training.  I LOVE running and I don’t have a lot of patience for other forms of exercise.  But, since my surgeon left me with very little cartilage when she repaired my ankle, I have had to limit my running somewhat.  Who would have thought that I would have less problems with having my neck rebuilt than my ankle?  Amazing medical mysteries. 🙂 Don’t get me wrong, I feel blessed beyond belief that I had the doctors I had, and not a day goes by that I am not thankful for the healing and recovery I have experienced.  It has just caused me to adjust my routine a bit.

I would love to swim, but I don’t have access to a pool without spending a bunch of cash on a membership.  I also must admit, I am no Michael Phelps.  I am much more like a shark.  I sink if I am not swimming hard.  I can’t even float in salt water! 

So, I have been riding the bike more and more.  One thing that is tough for me is the fact that I can “cheat” on the bike.  I am told by a bike riding friend that this is called “R.O.B.” or resting on bike.  This butts up against my competitive streak.  I am not out there to rest on anything.  So, I made my own rules for riding.  They are as follows:

  1. Peddle!  As much as I can, I don’t allow myself to coast.  I know this may seem silly, but welcome to my hang-up. 
  2. Try not to move to the smaller front chain rings unless absolutely necessary.  This can be tough with the hills I have in the neighborhood, but I am getting better.
  3. No bike shorts!  Okay, that one has nothing to do with fitness, just respect for my neighbors.  I can get a great workout in without all the high-tech, skin-tight bike gear. And the children in the neighborhood don’t run screaming for mommy as I go by.  Amazing how my running clothes work so well on a bike. 🙂
  4. Since the bike has quite a mechanical advantage, go for time, not distance.  I have found I have to ride MUCH farther to get a good workout than I would have covered by foot.
  5. And lastly, SAFETY.  I am very careful about where I ride and about my helmet.  I have spent a lifetime gaining what meager brain power I have, I don’t want to lose it to NOT having my melon protected.

So, I am working on replacing a couple of runs a week with riding, and so far, so good.  I will keep you updated as I learn more about this whole cross training thingy.  Who knows, maybe there is a triathlon in my future…if I can figure out how to stay afloat.

Happy running,

Rundad

Leave a Reply

Categories

