Posted by: rundadrun | July 12, 2012

When did my little boy become a man?

Image

I promise I only turned away for a second.  It doesn’t seem that long ago that I was watching my little boy running around the house with a towel around his neck fighting bad guys, or dressing up as a cowboy getting ready for a gunfight with another gunslinger.  Now, I am wondering where that little guy went as I hang up from a recruiting phone call with a college cross country coach who is working hard to make my firstborn a part of his college team.  I don’t know whether I should be bursting with pride or shedding tears over my child growing up. 

What an amazing thing being a parent is.  We all know that they will grow up and move on one day, but when they are tiny little bundles of joy, it seems like it is light years away.  And then suddenly, you are watching them become adults right before your eyes.  I promise I will not start quoting or singing “Cat’s in the Cradle” at this point. 

 I am so proud of my son for his athletic accomplishments, but it pales in comparison to how proud I am of him for his amazing faith and how he loves God with everything he has.  He just returned home from working at a Bible camp for inner-city kids.  He is growing in his Faith every day and I could not be prouder. 

As I was talking to the college coach tonight, he asked me what sets Matt apart from the other fast runners out there.  I didn’t even have to think about it.  I told the coach that Matt’s love of God is more important to him than any race he has ever run, and ALL his teammates know it.  I went on to tell the coach that although I love watching Matt run races and I am his biggest fan, I would be fine if he never ran again in his life if he continued to put God first in everything he does.  I was amazed to find out that the coach, who is the son of a preacher…(again, no song quoting, I promise), told me that this is exactly the kind of runner he wants on his team.  Obviously, I am not committing Matt to his school on that alone, but it was so nice to hear a coach from a non-Christian college say that.

So, as I did years ago when Matt ran off ahead of me for the first time, I now watch him pulling away from being daddy’s little man and watch him grow into being his own man.  And what a blessing that he is a man who puts God first.  That is the greatest race he could ever win!

Happy running,

Old Rundad

Leave a Reply

Categories

