Posted by: rundadrun | July 9, 2012

Back in the race! The really slow race. :)

Well, I am finally back to racing…if you can call it that.  I am not complaining, it was a race!  And the greatest part about it was I got to race with my daughter. 🙂  That alone was worth the price of admission.  I thought I was back to racing speed, until I hit the 1 mile marker.  I knew that going from basically sea level to 5400 feet above sea level was gonna be rough, but WOW.  There just isn’t enough air in the air up there! 

My daughter ran off and left me after about a 1/2 mile, and that was a great thing.  I would love to say that it filled my heart with pride seeing her pulling away and running her own race…and that would be true.  But I was more concerned that she would hear my labored breathing and ear that her dad was dying!  And it is so much easier to take a walk break when you don’t have to worry about your daughter seeing you.

But I think besides the joy of seeing my baby girl run away from me, was the fact that after having my ankle rebuilt in December and my spine fused in February, I was overjoyed with the fact that I was blessed to be running a race.  Just 6 months earlier, my neck pain had gotten bad enough that my wife and I were thinking we were going to have to make major adjustments to our lives, including my wife becoming our main provider and me just trying to cope.  What a miracle my spine surgery was!  god blessed us with more healing than we ever hoped for.  I know a lot of people would say, “it’s just a race Rob, lighten up”.  But for our family, it was an answer to prayers and a major milestone. 

And I got a great t-shirt to boot!

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Love it! So glad that you are healthy and can run 🙂

    • Thanks Sheila! And it only took a year between races. 🙂

  2. Wonderful! Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Categories

