Posted by: rundadrun | May 13, 2012

Rundad is back! Better, stronger…faster, not so much. :)

For the 10’s of people who have been awaiting my return, I can now announce that I am back!  Now for the people I am NOT related to, thanks for stopping by. You probably don’t know, but I have been out of circulation for a few months.

The reasons for my absence are many, but the main reason is the fact that, until recently, I have been unable to run because of a couple of surgeries.  On Dceember 12, 2011, I had my long injured right ankle rebuilt.  After several months of wearing a boot to try to and remedy a “trick” ankle, I went under the knife and had it fixed.  After I got out of the casts and off the crutches, I had my cervical spine fused at C5-6 and C6-7.  This was to fix 16 year problem and was the best thing I have ever done involving my spine!  I am now 3 months post neck surgery, and I am feeling better than ever! 

I say all that to say this.  I am finally running again!  I have been unable to run since last October, and to most of my friends, that is not a big deal.  But to someone who considers running as part of their life, a day without running is like a day without air.  Running is a very important part of who I am.

I am now back up to 3 miles running non-stop.  Baby steps, but STEPS nonetheless.  So, Look for more posts in the near future from a running Rundad!  I would love to share what a test of faith the last few months have been and how God has blessed me with some amazing lessons along the way. So, if you or anyone you know has struggled with setbacks and trials, feel free to stop by or subscribe and let’s share how we have made it through the tough times and been blessed beyond our dreams.

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Welcome back, Rundad! Have missed your posts. Although I have not been on the injured list with the depth you have, I am coming back, too. Welcome home! Looking forward to reading about your off-time and how you handled not running. Best, Elizabeth

    • Thanks Elizabeth! And you aren’t even a relative! 🙂 Good luck with your comeback and thanks for the support.
      Rundad

  2. Welcome back Rundad! I know what it’s like trying to come back from an injury (albeit not as severe as yours), and it is trying at times to resist getting back out there too soon.
    In Christ,
    Rusty

    • Thanks Rusty! I appreciate the encouragement. I am trying real hard to not overdo things.
      God bless,
      Rundad

  3. Glad to hear you’re back on the horse! It’s an inspiration to me!

  4. Glad to hear you’re back on the horse! It’s a big inspiration for this guy (also victim of a few injuries)

    • Thanks for the note! I should get back to writing and checking more often. Hope you are back from your injuries as well!

      • Yep! Took some time off before and after Camden was born, but I’ve been back at it for about 3wks

      • Very good to hear! Keep it up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

