Posted by: rundadrun | July 7, 2011

Why do I run?

During my first long run in a few months, I got to thinking about the reasons I run.  I have this thought now and then, usually when I am hurting a bit on long or harder runs.  But I think it is a good exercise to go through occasionally to remind myself of why I enjoy running.

Of course, going through this on an 8 miler in the rain, with high humidity and muddy trails…you can get some interesting reasons.  But here are a few that I came up with.

  • My health!  I have to be run to keep my body from slipping back into a cycle of high cholesterol, high blood sugar and more weight than I need on my body.
  • Be here for my wife and kids.  I posted before that I want to dance with my daughter at her wedding, and that is still true.  I also want to enjoy being able to walk and dance with my wife for a LONG time to come.
  • To feel great RIGHT NOW!  I feel so much better when I am running.  It is not just about the physical benefits, I love the feeling of accomplishment I get from a good run.
  • Who doesn’t enjoy dripping sweat?
  • The fact that most of the people I know think I am nuts BECAUSE I run. 🙂
  • Being able to run around when I am doing something else, like playing a game with our church youth group, and not feeling like I am going to die.
  • The quiet times that I get when I am out on the roads or trails.  I truly believe that I am more blessed when I come back from a run that before I head out the door.
  • Because God has blessed me with the ability to run, and I feel like I need to use it to my utmost.

So, these are a few of the things I came up with on my recent 8 miler.  What are the reasons you run?  If you don’t run, what are some of the reasons you would like to start?  And if you aren’t interested in running at all, thanks for reading Rundad anyway. 🙂

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. I run because I want to stay in shape. I run because I relish the “me time.” I run so I can chase my dog more energetically around my village. I run because I love how I feel afterwards: tired, happy, and relaxed. I run because I love seeing how strong my body is becoming. I run to attain my goals. But mostly, I run for me.

    Great blog post. I just started my own running blog– http://www.runningveg.wordpress.com. I have been in the process of checking out running-centric blogs and happened across yours. Keep up the great work!

    • Thanks! Good luck with your blog and I am glad you dropped by mine.

  2. I run because iCan. It may sound circular in reasoning, but the simplicity of the act in itself helps me take that next step.
    Keep running!!!

    • thanks for dropping by Lauren. Someday I will start posting again, but I have been too busy to write. Great reason to run!


Leave a Reply

Categories

