Posted by: rundadrun | June 30, 2011

A road…path less travelled

One of my favorite things about working with my son’s cross-country team is that I get to RUN with them.  And one of my favorite things about that is I get to break up the monotony of my normal routine, which is running on the streets of my neighborhood.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my neighborhood track, but I like a little change in scenery once in a while too. My favorite place we run is a local nature trail. It is a mix of paved trail and bark dust trails that runs through a local greenbelt.

There are so many things to love about trail running!  I love the shade, the softer surface, the shade, the wildlife and of course, the shade.  I enjoy that there is something around me other than mailboxes and houses as I run.  I really love the changing surfaces as I run.  Did I mention the shade?  In my neighborhood, there are so few mature tress that it is very hard to stay out of the sun while running.  Most of the time, I don’t mind the sun.  But as the temperatures approach the mid 90’s, I like some shade now and then.

I really enjoy the solitude and the fact that I can enjoy God’s beauty from another perspective.  The trail gives me a chance to get a little more in touch with the God who made it all.  I know I can do that anywhere I am, but having a visual reminder is always a nice thing.

I love the fact that I don’t keep such a careful eye on my watch when I am trail running.  It is going to be slower, and for once, I am okay with that.  And believe me, getting me to give up my dependence on the all mighty watch is a big deal. 🙂 Not that I am fast, I just am addicted to looking at the silly thing constantly.

One thing that is tough is one of the things that I also enjoy about going out on trails.  The uneven footing can really play tricks on my bum ankle.  It tends to roll anytime it wants to if I am not careful.  But a little extra care in foot placement is a small price to pay for all the positives I get from going off-roading.

What are your favorite places to run?  If any are in the SW Ohio region, please let me know, as I will give them a try.  If you haven’t already done so, find a trail in your area and give it a run.

Happy running(trail or otherwise,

Rundad

Responses

  1. I ran the Cincinnati Flying Pig this year and loved the part that cut through Eden Park — that’s my only recommendation for southwest Ohio. For my money, you can’t beat the Chicago lakefront path though, or along the Charles river in Boston.

    • I have run the Pig for several years. Great spot there in Eden Park. I ran the Lakefront path in Chicago a few years ago. Very pretty and enjoyable. I haven’t been to Boston yet, but will add it to the list. Thanks for dropping by.


Leave a Reply

Categories

