Posted by: rundadrun | June 29, 2011

The little fawn that could!

I got to see an amazing thing this Sunday morning.  While driving some youth group kids who were visiting from Canada back to their drop off point, we came upon a very small young fawn on the side of the road.  I slowed down, and she started making her way across the street.  As she reached the center of the road, she saw us, and bolted for the forest on the other side of the road.  Unfortunately, there was a fence between her and her desired hiding place.  The top row was barbed wire and pretty high, so she opted to go THROUGH the fence.  She would have been fine if she had slowed down and squeezed through one of the lower openings, but she had it in her heart to jump up and try for one of the higher openings.  First attempt, fail.   She bounced off the wire, moved down a few feet and tried again.  Second, third and fourth attempts, fails.  She finally moved to an opening that had been stretched out by other animals and jumped through.  By that point, all four of us in my car were cheering her on and broke into applause.  She quickly disappeared into the woods on the other side and we drove on. You can see the larger hole she eventually made it through in the picture below.

As I was driving my family to church on the same road less than an hour later, I started thinking about some of the  great life lessons that little spotted fawn had reminded me of.  Here are a few of the things I learned from her:

  • Persistence-  Sometimes, we have to keep pounding away(literally) to get to the place we need to be.
  • Vision-  If we look around a little before we start pounding our head on the wall, sometimes we will find a door just steps away.
  • Faith-  Even when things aren’t going as planned, Faith keeps us from quitting.
  • Goals-  Sometimes you need to start a little lower and grow into the higher ones.

On the persistence front, I think about the times I have felt like giving up because things kept getting in the way of my plans.  Sometimes, just re-adjusting my approach a little makes all the difference in the world.  Whether it is my running, which has had plenty of setbacks, or the way I treat my wife and kids(again, plenty of setbacks), I can learn a lot from the get up, dust myself off and try again attitude that little deer displayed.

We are studying Acts right now in our Jr. High Bible class on Sunday mornings.  I am constantly amazed with Peter and how he continually bounced back from huge mistakes and ends up being such an amazing leader of the early church.  Imagine if he had given up after denying Christ, or sinking into the water while walking towards Jesus. What a great example of never giving up.  Like my little fawn friend, he just refused to quit until he got where he was going.

I hope next time you run into an obstacle, you think of that little deer, and keep on trying.

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. perfect encouraging lesson-one those kids will never forget. Thanks for sharing this.

    • Thank you! And I don’t think any of us will forget it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

