Posted by: rundadrun | June 21, 2011

Driving through storms.

On a recent family trip, we found ourselves driving toward a massive thunderstorm.  I have to admit, I kinda like t-storms…as long as they aren’t rotating.  But as we got closer to this storm, it got blacker, and lower and I could tell it was going to be a doozy.  As we hit it, some of the cars around us on the freeway started slowing and some put their emergency flashers on.  Then the hail came, and some of the cars started pulling off the side of the road.  I have never been a big fan of stopping on the side of the freeway during storms.  I get a little scared about cars and semis hitting me from behind.  But the bigger the hail got, the more nervous I got.  When the hail got to golf ball size, I stopped praying long enough to tell the kids to get their heads toward the middle of the car and away from the windows.  After what seemed like a lifetime, we came out of the storm.  We were all relieved that it was over, but no sooner had it stopped than the heavy rain started again.  I did not want to go through the same thing again!  Thankfully, it never ramped up to the same level and we were able to finish the drive.  Amazingly enough, there was very little damage to the car other than a few smalls dents.

Sometimes life is just like that drive.  So many times, storms pop up in front of us and we have to make a choice.  Slow down and stop, and wait for it to go away.  Speed up and ram your way through with no regard for safety. Or maybe just keep going with caution until you come through the other side.  But the storm has to be dealt with.

I would love to say that after getting through a storm in life, everything is better, but that wouldn’t be true.  Sometimes the troubles stack up like thunderstorms in the August sky. But I do know that God will provide the strength and the way if we trust in Him.  We may end up with a few dents and bruises, but we WILL come through the other side.

Who knows, maybe the storms will make us stronger.  I know that when you finally overcome a particularly bad time, you are better able to handle the next tough time.  It doesn’t make the tough times any easier, but I always fall back on my favorite verse.  Philippians 4:13 says that we can do ALL things through Christ, because He will give us the strength.  What more do I need?

Happy running,

Rundad

Leave a Reply

Categories

