Posted by: rundadrun | March 30, 2011

If it ain’t broke…count your blessings!

About 10PM last night, my wife informed me that our clothes dryer had suddenly stopped working and she could not get it to start.  This dryer and I have had a love/hate relationship for many years.  It is now 12 years old, and for the last 6 or so, I have been taking it apart and cleaning all the lint out of it a couple of times a year.  This makes it happy and has been all I needed to do to it in the way of maintenance.  Not a bad investment of time to keep from buying a new dryer.  And as my wife told me last night, “you kinda have to buy a washer and dryer together so they match”.  I should make it clear that she was joking.  But it is true, if one goes out, people tend to replace both.  Whether it is so they match or not, I do not know.  But I do know that I have not gone out of my way to check the coordination of my friends clothing, much less their appliances…EVER. 🙂

So, as I contemplated the outlay of cash that was looming in my immediate future, I decided that I would make every effort to find and fix the problem before writing a check.  Believe it or not, in less than 10 minutes, I had not only found the problem, but had the broken part in my hand.  I made one phone call this morning, located the part less than 30 minutes away for less than $18.00, and had it installed in less than 10 minutes.

It got me thinking about how many people just throw in the towel when something isn’t working right and buy a new one.  After all, it’s only credit.  I am NOT that much of a handyman, but after spending a few minutes on Google I solved the problem.  And saved a BOATLOAD of money in the process!  But we tend to jump the gun when it comes to giving up on something that is having a bit of trouble.  How many cars, appliances, and other such items could be saved with a little research and maintenance?

Aren’t you glad that God didn’t give up on us?  I know I am very high maintenance!  What if God had the same amount of patience with me that I sometimes have with the things in my life that are not performing like they used to.  He not only didn’t give up on us, he paid a huge price to fix the problem.  John 3:16 is the receipt! Keep it, He gives a lifetime warranty. 🙂

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. this is so very true. We live in a disposable fast food nation and it makes me sad. Thankfully, our house is full of ‘fixed’ things. My newest appliance is my toaster and I wish I still had the old one! Oh, wait…I forgot we had to get a new printer in December (the old one was obsolete and we couldn’t get ink very cheaply!).

    Praise God that he has never given up on us..EVER. Good read, sir!

    • Thank you very much!

  2. Not related to your wonderful and relevant article, but in the photo above, your son looks (to me) exactly like a young Chad Morgan—Ila Morgan’s son. Did you know them?

    • I remember the name, but cannot place the face. I just realized the picture of Kaylee does look a little boy-like with her hair hidden. 🙂 Good to hear from you Coleen! God bless.

  3. Hey Rundad, I love this post. My brisk crawl around the track has turned in to a jog, curves only so far. I’m getting there!

    • JOGGING! Way to go! Thanks for the read and the kind words. Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

Categories

