Posted by: rundadrun | March 25, 2011

You’ve got nothing on me tobacco!

Fourteen years ago this month I kicked tobacco out of my life for good.  I can honestly say that I never intended to start using tobacco in the first place.  I didn’t start because I thought it would make me look cool or older or any of those reasons that so many people start.  I spent my entire childhood seeing people around me smoking, but I didn’t start so that I could be like them.  I started pretty late, in my late teens.  I took up dipping to stay awake on my long drive back and forth from college every day.  Stupid, but true.  It quickly became an addiction for me and I was hooked for 12 years.  I tried over and over to quit, but it wasn’t until my beautiful wife got me into a Smoke-Enders group that I finally kicked it.

The ironic part of it was, the only reason she knew I was still using tobacco was that in an effort to quit dipping, I took up smoking!  Now, I could no longer hide my habit.  Her nose told her the truth even when I didn’t.

So, I have been able to enjoy 14 years of life without the guilt of using a product that I knew would kill me.  My children have never seen me smoke or chew.  So, for my anniversary this year, I found the lid from my last can of Skoal and I made a paperweight out of it.  I had put the lid away as a reminder 14 years ago.  I don’t need it as a reminder when I am feeling weak in my resolve to stay tobacco free.  That has never happened.  I have no desire to start again.  I thank God every day for that.  It is a reminder to me of all the things that are possible now that I have that addiction out of my life.  I have been able to get back into running and fitness and have run 3 marathons and 6 half marathons.  I am able to run with my kids!  God is good!

So, if you are thinking about finally kicking the habit, DO IT!  Life gets better every day!  I never would have run a marathon as a smoker.  It was the furthest thing from my mind.  And I can honestly say, I have never been healthier or happier.

Happy and tobacco-free running,

Rundad

Leave a Reply

Categories

