Posted by: rundadrun | March 24, 2011

It just doesn’t get any better than this! Really!

For the last few weeks, I have been in negotiations with my biggest customer.  I will be the first to admit, I am not the kind of salesperson who loves the process of negotiating a new contract, or fighting tooth and nail to keep a customer.  I much prefer to just keep my customers happy and somewhat ignorant to the fact that there are other companies that make the same product I sell.  So, needless to say, my stress levels have been pretty high.

Thrown into the mix is the fact that I have been traveling a lot lately to take care of other customers, so I have been spending WAY too much time away from home.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my job and I am not complaining.  I am so blessed to have such a great job!  But I know that it has been tough on my family.  So, as I found myself  in a yet another hotel, this time in Cleveland, waiting on word from my customer, I did what I usually do when the stress of work and life gets to me.  I went for a good run.  And I do mean good!  Yes, it was a treadmill, but it was a nice hard 3 miler that left me worn out and relaxed.  But what made it really good was the fact that I got to spend some time running and praying .  As I have written before, I do my best thinking and praying when I am running.  I almost always end up feeling more at peace when I finish a run.

My thoughts continued to be centered on this customer until he finally emailed me last night and asked me to call him in the morning.  Why he didn’t just give me the news then, I do not know.  I think he is a bit of a sadist. 🙂

To cut to the chase, I got the deal!  I then spent the next 4 hours driving home and praying some more.  But the best part of my day was still to come.  I got home in time to head out to my son’s track practice and watch him run a PR in the mile!  I think his coach knew that Matt was going to have a great workout, because he assigned me to time Matt’s group.  To actually get to be the timer when your child runs the fastest mile of his life(so far) is a gift I will never forget.

But that isn’t even the best part of my day.  After dinner, our phone rang. It was one of Matt’s oldest friends.  They have grown a little apart, but still keep in touch.  His friend was calling because he wanted to talk to Matt about God!  I could not have been prouder if Matt had run a sub-4 minute mile this afternoon.  My son’s faith had shone through in his life and touched one of his friends.  It made all the troubles and toil of work and life just fade into the background.  The important things rose to the top, where they should have been all along.

Customers will come and go, record times will be broken and forgotten.  But living a life that shows God to others, that lasts forever.   What a great day!

Happy running,

Rundad

Leave a Reply

Categories

