Posted by: rundadrun | March 21, 2011

It’s a small world after all!

When I was about 6 years old, my family moved from a small town to a big farm out in the country.  As a boy, that farm was HUGE!  My brothers and I had so many adventures on this massive piece of property.  We had all the things that young boys need for adventures.  A big barn with a hay loft, pigs, chickens and cows and later even a pony.  There was a time in the middle where we had a desert burro, but we don’t talk about that. 🙂  And in the middle of it all was a big slough (a big stinky green pond), complete with bullfrogs and fish. And did I mention a WHOLE LOTTA DIRT!

We would run all over the countryside from morning till night and create worlds of our own.  I remember there were days when we would not see an adult for most of the day.  It was truly a dream come true for a little boy.  We lived that dream until our house burned to the ground when I was 11 and after rebuilding on the same site, it was decided that we needed to move back to town.  We still had adventures in our small town, but nothing ever compared in my mind to the years we spent on the family farm.

On my recent trip back to my old hometown, I was amazed at how small everything had become.  When my father drove me out to the old farm, I was sure that someone had shrunk the place down.  It had been SO huge when I was a child.  Now, it seemed that it was just a small little place.  The barn was gone, but it was more than that.  I was sure that somehow it had been bigger.  Now, as an adult, I know that 5 acres isn’t all that big.  But to an 8-year-old, it was the size of my world.  The pond that I remember being the size of a lake, was not much bigger than an above ground pool apparently.

A lot of things in life are that way.  They seem so big when you are right in the middle of them.  It reminds me of how I tend to deal with problems and stress in my life.  They seem absolutely HUGE when they first appear.  I have a hard time sometimes with getting things in perspective.  But like I realized when I was looking at the old family farm as an adult, time can make things seem easy to handle.  Time, and a little talk with the One who made the WHOLE world.  At the time I was visiting the old digs, I was also trying to deal with the recent loss of my little brother.  Going back to the place where so many of my memories with him were born helped so much with putting some closure to his life.  All the wonderful memories happened long before his life took such a tragic change in direction.  I needed to re-visit that piece of history to move on.

So, next time you are facing something that seems too big to handle, give it some time, and some prayer and see if it doesn’t become more manageable.  Maybe, like a 44-year-old returning to the stomping grounds of his childhood, you will get a little different perspective.

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. true words indeed.

    I’ve bought the 60 acres where my grandparents raised me. The old house is still there along with the barn and sheds.
    I take a walk through there every morning with my 3 year old daughter….history and culture sure runs deep around here.

    Raven

    • Thank you Raven. Sounds like you found a little piece of Heaven for your family.

  2. I felt the same way when I visited the small town of my childhood. It had seemed quite a bit bigger when I was young, but as an adult I see it through new eyes. Interesting, eh?

    • Yes, it is interesting. I was amazed at the differences. Thanks for dropping by the blog.

  3. Robert – I don’t think I visited that farm more than once, but I have the same memory. Stinky slough, big barn… dead hawk from which you brought me the wish bone, at school a few days later. That didn’t seem weird at all then. OK, but what I don’t remember was it burning to the ground! You were 11, that means we were both at Mountain View, I think. So anyway, the reason it struck me was because I remember your grandfather(uncle?) setting fire to about an acre’s worth of brush using a gas can and a single match. Not so much as a water jug handy, nevermind plowing the perimeter.
    But to your point. Yeah, it did seem huge! Hanford was SO FAR away from Fresno. And what was college or marriage or family or any of this stuff? MILES away. Too big and far to fathom. But what wasn’t far away was the whisper of God. I remember it now, even though I heard nothing then. Because of His love, he invited us into his house, which isn’t just huge, but ” of the increase of his government and peace there will be no end.” Basically, we’re invited to live on a farm that’s always getting bigger.
    Thanks for the memories. Good Cheer to you.

    • Thanks Devin! I remember you coming for the weekend. The old house burned down right before we came to Mt. View when I was in the 6th grade. The house you stayed at was the rebuild. Your words are quite true and very appreciated. Those were great times, but we are blessed beyond belief now.

  4. What a great blog! I just stumbled here and wanted to stop in and say hello! Have a great day!

    • Thank you Toni! I appreciate the visit and hope you have a great day as well.

  5. Wonderful blog!!! Loved it.

    • Thank you for your kind words!

  6. This was good for me to read tonight as I lay here at 3 am unable to sleep….thanks for sharing….

    • Thanks and sorry about your lack of sleep.


Leave a Reply

Categories

