Posted by: rundadrun | February 3, 2011

Time may not be on my side.

So, as I almost always do, I let the training slip after my last 1/2 marathon in November.  I have not quit running, as my recent 5K  attests, but I am not in 1/2 marathon shape at this moment in time.  After taking a short break to rest my body after the hard 1/2 in November, my budding plantar fasciitis not only didn’t get better, but got a bit worse.  So, one week of rest turned into running only occasionally and now I am looking at life as a near non-runner.  It is not that I don’t want to go out, I just haven’t gotten out regularly.

So now comes the big problem.  I am comfortable going out for 3 or 4 slow easy miles, but I haven’t gone further than that in a couple of months. I have in my hand a great half marathon training program  that has worked well for me before and I was trying to figure out if I still have the fitness to start a 10 week training program  2 weeks from today.  Is this crazy?

I was really hoping to air it out in May at the Flying Pig Half.  This is a race that is our hometown favorite and I haven’t done well in the half here ever.  I know my fitness level is not what it was in November, but I rocked a 5K 2 weeks ago without really “training” specifically for it.  I feel good when I go out for 3 or 4.

So I guess I just need some other runners to give me an opinion here:

I would love to hear what you think.  I am considering just getting the training plan going and seeing how I feel as it progresses, but would love some input.  Thank you to all my running friends.  To my non-running friends, PRAY FOR ME!  🙂

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. I believe you’re right about my age and in far better shape. If this pudgy old guy can do a 1/2 training plan then you can! I actually ran 10 miles last Sunday. OK, I ran about 7 and walked about 3 but still.

    ~Conan

  2. Thanks Conan! I don’t know about far better shape, though. 🙂 I have a pretty good history of making it through my training plans in the past, so I am liking the odds. Good job on the 10 miler!

  3. Well, I suppose my age has yours beat in terms of youth, but I was dared to run the full marathon days before I ran my first. Without any prior training, I killed a large Dominos pizza the night prior (because I like it, not for the run as I tell myself) and up and ran it. I think you’ll be ok, then again it is your own goal that must be set and attempted. I dare not set your goal for you. My encouragements with you regardless.

    • Wow Jason, I trained for 16-20 weeks before all of my marathons and they still beat me down. You are crazy! 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement and the comment!

  4. You can do it!

    • Thanks Gary! I am wishing I had been as consistent as you since November though. 🙂

  5. Guess we’re all in “listen to your body” mode. Good luck!

    • At my age, sometimes my hearing doesn’t let me hear what my body is saying. 🙂 Thanks for the comment.

  6. It may not seem like it, but the rest you’ve given your body will probably lead to an even better training session. You’ve got plenty of time to train for this and to really knock things out.

    • Thanks David! I feel pretty fresh, so maybe this rest thing works. 🙂

  7. I will be the one praying for you. 😮 I have a feeling you will do just fine, stick to your plan and it will work. 🙂

    • Thanks Charla! We will see how this goes. 🙂

  8. I guess I have unanswered questions. I’d definitely listen to you body, and I am quite a conservative runner. How many years have you been running? When you say you have no base, what do you mean? Are you able to put any miles in at all?

    I dealt with PF, and it was tough. Generally, a 1/2 marathon plan starts out pretty low mileage, and that might be enough to get you out there again. You could do a 1/2 of week 1 this week, and then do 3/4 of it the next week. See how you feel about starting week 1 after that.

    I used this: http://www.footwearetc.com/Strassburg/Sock.html for PF with great success. I also ran my key workouts (intervals, tempo, long), but I biked for the other ones to stay off my foot. It worked really well. In 2010, I biked/ran for my June marathon, then ran full-time for the Oct. marathon training. I haven’t had a flare-up since November of 2009. Maybe that would work for you too.

    • I have been running for about 7 years now, so I usually have a decent base. I am running now, just not as much as usual. Normally I run 4 or 5 days a week, I am running 1 or 2 right now. Thanks for the PF advice. I have been thinking about the sock for some time. I guess it is time to do it. Thanks again. 🙂

      • If you’ve been running that long overall, I don’t hesitate to recommend that you just jump in and see how your body feels. You’ve put in the time before. Keep us posted! 🙂

  9. I encourage you to keep training. I was going to do the Flying Pig but opted instead to stay in my home town and run the Country Music Half which is the day before. I’m a VERY slow runner but this past weekend I ran a half marathon and shaved 10:30 off of my previous best time. That was on Saturday and here it is Tuesday and I’m still on Cloud 9. (I blogged about it on Sunday)
    You KNOW how good it feels to run (when not injured) so why cheat yourself out of that feeling?

  10. Thanks Pam! And way to go with the weight loss…no pun intended. 🙂 Keep up the great work and I look forward to hearing about more of your successes. Because the PF is still rather painful, I have cut back to running the relay, which is a blast anyway. I will gear up for another half after this foot heals a little more.


Leave a Reply

Categories

