Posted by: rundadrun | February 2, 2011

I beat the 10 year old!

I did not intend for my entire strategy to end up being to beat a 10-year-old at any cost…it just sorta happened!  My brother and I had show up late for the Tule Fog 5K in Visalia, CA and I didn’t get to warm up at all.  I thought that my original plan to really run hard might have to be given up.  I was a little worried that I was going to explode and have to limp in.  So, when the race started, I just decided to run a little bit faster than comfortable and adjust at the halfway point.  This was a little tougher than I thought it would be, due to a very narrow trail and lots of people.  But as we approached the 1 mile mark, things thinned out.  And then when the 10K’ers split off and it was just us short timers, things got real fast and lonely.  I saw a young boy in front of me and my mind started playing that little game it sometimes plays during races.  “You can take that kid!” But my heart was saying, “he is nothing to you, leave him alone”.  It was about this time that an obviously older man passed me.  I didn’t even bother with him…since I had no hopes of catching him. 🙂  He was flying.  Back to the kid!  He was right there for the taking.  i started thinking about moving up one place in the earnings, then remembered there aren’t any monetary prizes when you run as slow as me.  But still, I NEEDED to beat this kid.  I looked back(I know, but I did it), saw that there was nobody close enough to pick me off if I had to slow down mid-assault, and dropped the hammer.  The kid never saw it coming!  Okay, he was only 10 and probably could have cared less.  But in my mind, he was CONQUERED!  Now if I could only hold on for the last few hundred yards without losing my breakfast in front of all these people who were cheering me on…again, it was in my head, I can remember it however I want.

When I finally saw the finish line through the fog(most appropriately named race ever),  I kicked in a little extra, and crossed the line in 23:17!  I was hoping to finish in the 25 minute range, and had almost made it under 23 minutes.  This was flying for me.  Good thing I kicked, because apparently Junior became upset with getting passed by an old bald guy and tried valiantly to catch me at the end.  Tough luck little man, daddy was on a mission. 🙂 Actually, I didn’t even know he was there, and just got lucky he ran out of track before he caught me.

So, I ended up getting 2nd in my age group…1st was obviously doping. :),  and had a great time.  The best part about it was getting to run my first race ever with my big brother, who blasted out a PR!  All this and free bananas too!

Rob and Gary at the Tule Fog 5K

PS The author is really not as conceited as it sounds, he is just having fun.  He is just completely unaccustomed to actually beating anyone…even 10-year-olds. 🙂  Of course, he also got beat by a man who was 22 years his senior.  Way to go Felipe!  You are awesome my new-found friend!

Responses

  1. That’s funny! I yield to the little kids. I’m not selfless. I just don’t think I can’t beat them. 🙂 I didn’t think you sound conceited at all. PR’s are exciting, and doing unexpectedly well is even more exciting. I saw your brother at the race. I noticed his shirt. The Two Cities marathon was my first marathon. I ran it two years in a row, but missed it this past year because I had ran one in Utah five weeks prior. Did you or your brother run it? It’s a great event.

    • Hi Stacy,
      My brother ran it as his first one. Thanks for the comment. It is fun getting a PR now and then, especially when you get to be my age. 🙂

  2. I have no problem beating any of my sons in a game of chess – and ungraciously gloating. Of course, they are usually in middle school when I get that way. However, I have bowed out of pick up soccer games after too many “accidental” shots to the head! LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

