Posted by: rundadrun | January 11, 2011

Haiti, one year later.

I know that I am not alone in taking some time to reflect on the year in Haiti.  I remember the absolute helplessness I felt when the pictures started coming in of the devastation.  My helplessness was mostly centered around wondering if the little boy we sponsor through Hope for Haiti’s Children was safe.  Knowing that he lived in the poorest part of Port-au-Prince, Cite Soleil, I knew that there was a good chance that his home was destroyed.  It would be a couple of weeks before we knew that he and his family were safe.  Their house had indeed been destroyed, but everyone was safe except for cuts and bruises.

I remember seeing the terrible suffering and deciding that it was time for me to do more than just send a check every month to send a little boy to school.  I was blessed to be able to go and work with and for some wonderful people in Haiti just 5 months later on a trip with HFHC.  I was even more blessed to be able to meet our little boy Alex while I was there. 

Rob and Alex

I was amazed by seeing the damage first-hand.  Pictures can’t describe what the Haitian people go through every day just to survive.  Living in a country that has the ability to bounce back from terrible things quickly, I took for granted that a lot of the damage would already have been fixed.  But it doesn’t work like that in Haiti.  They barely get their feet under them after the hurricane season, and the earthquake hit.  Then another set of hurricanes, and cholera. 

But good things are happening in Haiti.  My friends just returned days before Christmas after passing out Christmas Joy boxes to the kids all over Haiti.  The kids were able to put the rubble out of their minds for a while and get boxes filled with goodies from Pere Noel himself.  And slowly, things are being rebuilt. 

Through all of this, I have seen a people of great faith continue to live in conditions that I can’t even imagine.  They are an inspiration to me as I go through rather small trials in comparison.  And through it all, they still say, “Bondye bon”, or God is good.

So, tomorrow as you go about your day, remember to say a prayer for our friends in Haiti. I know that is what I will be doing during my run tomorrow. 

Happy running,

Rundad

Leave a Reply

Categories

