Posted by: rundadrun | November 26, 2010

It’s the most, wonderful time of the year…for running!

The house smells of cherry dump cake and pumpkin pie…it must be time for Fall running!  I love this time of year.  I am definitely a cold weather runner.  The chill in the air means that I won’t be suffering from heat exhaustion until Spring.

I love running in the snow too, but something about cool weather and Fall leaves just makes me want to lace ’em up and run.  It isn’t so cold that I have to worry about skin damage, and I just feel faster and stronger.  The sun is finally up a little earlier, and the early Fall storms have died off. 

It is a great time to get a training program started for a favorite Spring race.  Or, get started over again after a little time off.  Since I just ran a half marathon a couple of weeks ago, it is time for me to start another training plan for Spring so things don’t get pushed to the back burner too much.  As I have blogged before, I am a bit of a slave to having a plan on the fridge that tells me what and when to run. 🙂

Since yesterday was Thanksgiving, use the guilt over having eaten a little too much to propel you into getting ready for a Jingle Bell run in your area.  Get started on that New Year’s resolution a little early, and get in shape now. 

So, finish that leftover turkey and stuffing, and go out and enjoy this beautiful cool (or cold if you are in my area) weather with a few Fall miles.  I promise, you will appreciate it when Christmas rolls around and you get that extra helping of ham because you earned it with a long run. 🙂 

Happy Thanksgiving and running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. It is beautiful running weather! The wind makes my 7 miles seem like 14, I can’t feel my face for a couple of hours after a good run, but the clear skies and cold air feel so good that I have a hard time taking a day off!
    Run on!

    • I love that numb face post run feel. 🙂 Merry Christmas and happy running.


Leave a Reply

Categories

