Posted by: rundadrun | November 12, 2010

Maitainance vs. Repair

It is almost always easier and less traumatic to perform maintainance than it is to repair what is broken.  This can be said of most things, from our homes to our bodies and almost everything else.  It is so much easier to clean up and touch up the paint on my house than it is to strip it down and start over.  The same can be said of our bodies as well.  I much prefer staying fit as opposed to GETTING fit.  I have done both in my life…several times on the getting fit part unfortunately, and I much prefer the former.  It is so much more enjoyable to go out for a run now than it was 10 years ago… and now it doesn’t include considering a call to 911.

Think about our relationships.  I have been blessed to have the most forgiving and wonderful family on earth.  I have not always done what I should when it comes to maintaining my relationships with my wife and children.  But thankfully, I have not gotten to the point where I have to start all over.  I give a lot of the credit for that to a wife who is my spiritual partner, as well as my best friend.  We came into our marriage with the firm belief that it was a lifetime commitment that would require constant maintainance.  God truly blessed me with a VERY patient and loving wife.  Once we had children, that commitment expanded to include keeping our relationship with them as healthy as possible.  Have we been perfect in that?  By no means, just ask my kids.  But I know that they know I am in this for the duration, and I am trying my best to follow God’s will for our family. 

God is good and I know that He will be there if I do need to rebuild from the ground up in my relationship with Him or with my family, but like staying fit versus getting fit, I much prefer not having to be broken and fixed.  I go through various stages of disrepair in all areas of my life.  There are times that I know that the only reason I can keep going is the grace that only God can provide.  But it is so much better a life when I keep my spiritual fitness level up.  

But if you do end up with your house in disrepair, or your relationships in the cellar, or your fitness level closer to couch potato than Olympian, remember that we can overcome that too!  I can’t stop thinking about Philippians 4:13.  I CAN do ALL things through Christ who gives me strength.  Doesn’t sound like anything is too much for God.  Now I have to go put the second coat on the door trim. 🙂

Happy running,

Rundad

Leave a Reply

Categories

