Posted by: rundadrun | November 8, 2010

From ICU to 26.2

What a difference a year makes!  I received a phone call Sunday afternoon that made me proud and thankful at the same time.  On the phone was my big brother, who was somewhere past mile 22 of his first marathon!  He was calling to let me know how he was doing (not well), and to get some encouragement (I hope).  He was having a very typical first time marathoner experience in that at about mile 15, things started to go bad.  His knee was killing him, he had been to the medical tent and had an ice bag tape on and was trudging on.  But the main thing was that he WAS trudging on.  The reason the phone call was so special to me was that it had been just about a year ago that I received a phone call from my mom to let me know that I might need to start looking for a ticket for an emergency trip to California.  My big brother was in the Intensive Care Unit at our hometown hospital, with a mysterious liver infection that it was not certain he would survive.  He was in the ICU for about 3 weeks before the infection was finally brought under control.  He went home with tubes running from his healing liver to a bag that he carried around for the next few days.  In the process, he lost nearly 30 pounds and lost a great deal of muscle strength. 

Fast forward a year, and he is calling me to tell me that although he is hurting, he is going to finish.  About 30 minutes later, I called him and he had indeed finished and forgotten to call me back, because he was cheering in the final finishers who were behind him!  I was overcome by the feeling that God is indeed amazing!  Only God could bring about the type of healing that my brother experienced.  I am so blessed to have been able to see the change the last year has brought.  When he called me a couple of weeks ago during his final long run, he mentioned the ICU to 26.2 idea.  What a great theme! 

When my brother started running a couple of years back, I was happy to see him taking up my favorite habit.  I am very proud now to see that he has made running a lifestyle that is so much a part of him that a stint in the ICU only made him want to get out and run all the more. 

So, please indulge me in welcoming my big brother to the 26.2 Club!  I am very proud and completely amazed with what he has done, and so thankful to God for allowing him to make it through last year’s little interruption in his training. 🙂  I am not sure how many people would have come back from something like that.  Way to go Bro!

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Wonderful! Next year I plan to join your club. I’m currently a proud member of the 13.1 and am ready to step it up a notch.

  2. Can’t wait to have you as a member! Thanks for stopping by the blog.

  3. AMEN Robert! Great blog. I too am VERY proud of your brother. 🙂

    • Thanks Charla. We better all slow down, or his head will be too big to run any more marathons. 🙂

  4. RUNDAD!!! I’ve missed your posts! Congrats to your brother. I am mid way though a similiar journey and hope to do as well. Had a heart attack in 6/09, started running in 1/10, running a 1/2 in 5/11 and the MCM in 10/11.

    • Wow Conan! That is awesome! Thanks for dropping by and for the kind words. I wish you the best in your ongoing journey. Amazing that sometimes such good things can come from something so scary as a heart attack. God bless and keep me updated on your progress.


Leave a Reply

Categories

