Posted by: rundadrun | August 25, 2010

I’m not dead yet!

Wow, I am amazed at how quickly a skipped workout or a skipped blog entry can turn into a habit! It seems like just yesterday I was in marathon shape, doing my training plan and blogging every other day or so.  Now all of a sudden I am struggling to start running regularly, hoping I am in good enough shape to start my next training plan in a week, and blogging for the first time in a LONG time.  Life gets in the way sometimes.  But it always seems that obstacles get in the way of our best plans.  Whether it is regular running, blogging, or my daily walk with God, it seems like it is easier at times to coast downstream than swim against it.

I recently drove past a house that was in the process of being demolished.  As I drove by in the morning, consequently on my way to run with my son’s cross-country team (in an attempt to jump-start my running life), there was a backhoe in the front yard, taking out the small trees and shrubs in the yard.  On my way home about 2 hours later, the house was gone!  It had been reduced to rubble and put in a waste container in less than 2 hours!  From home to debris in a couple of hours.  This got me thinking about how I tend to go from fit to unfit over a period of a couple of months of reduced activity.  This got me thinking even further about how I tend to allow the world to take me from a close relationship with God to feeling far from Him when I neglect my daily walk with Him.

The big difference between the house being demolished and my fitness levels dropping off (either physically or spiritually) is the speed of the process.  I didn’t lose my ability to run 26.2 miles, or even 10 miles overnight.  Nor do I go from feeling close to God one day, and distant the next.  It is a process that chips away slowly at my fitness slowly.  A skipped run here, a dismissed quiet time there and in a few weeks, it is easy to NOT go out and do my long run on Saturday morning, or go to God when I have something on my heart.  If  it were a frontal assault, with a piece of heavy equipment parked in my yard, I would have no trouble seeing the threat.  But it is a slow, easy decline that goes unnoticed until the damage is done.

So, I find myself repeatedly starting my training program again, or promising myself to revamp my prayer life.  I know this is just the way it is for me.  I do best when I have a hard and fast plan.  I tend to fail when I just travel down my training life or spiritual life in a less organized, non-planned way.

So, if you are like me, make your fitness and your faith a PLANNED priority in your life.  I have to put a training plan on my fridge for motivation.  Make an appointment with God daily, and then don’t break it.  And if you see a bulldozer in your yard, GET OUT OF THE HOUSE! 🙂

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Appreciated your thoughts – and your sly Styx reference

    • Double sly, it was also a nod to Monty Python. 🙂 Thanks for reading.

  2. Great analogy! Good thing (unlike with our fitness) all we have to do is say “hello” and God is right there waiting for us and we can pick up where we left off.

    • Amen! Thanks for the comment and for dropping by.

  3. wow! thanks for this! I needed to hear it/read it today!

    • You are welcome Kim. Thanks for dropping in.

  4. Great post – such a wonderful comparison! I hope you’re back in training mode after a couple weeks. It’s hard to do, but so worth it…

    • Thanks PPM,
      I am definitely back in full training swing and it is going great. Thanks for the encouragement.
      Rundad

  5. Great piece. I really miss reading your blog, and hope you are focusing your energy on both your faith and your running. The weather is at long last cooler— much more conducive to running and that meditative state it brings to the mind. Still have that plan on your fridge?

    • Thanks Elizabeth! Yes, the plan is on the fridge and I am glad to say that it has no missed days 3 weeks in. 🙂 I appreciate you missing my blog…very humbling thinking anyone would miss it. It will return as soon as I can find a spare moment between 2 kids running cross country, work, running myself and just trying to be a decent dad and husband. No excuses, just trying to breath. 🙂 Thanks again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

