Posted by: rundadrun | June 20, 2010

Happy Father’s Day and a call to duty.

As Father’s Day comes around again, I am reminded once again of the great task I have been called to as a father.  I have always seen Father’s Day as more of a call to duty than a day to stop and honor.  Of course, I still feel we need to honor our fathers, but I see the day as more of a reminder to be the best dad I can be and fulfill the duty God has called me to.

I love the fact that my children love running and staying physically fit.  I am the proudest of dads out on the cross country course or trackside.  But that is not what being a father is about.  I would rather have children who had no idea what a mile repeat was than fail in my duty to show them the love of Christ.  My chest swells with pride seeing my son and daughter compete, but nowhere near as much as when I see them sitting in church worshiping our one true Father.

I am a firm believer in bringing up my children in a healthy and fit lifestyle.  I want them to live long healthy lives.  But more importantly, I want them to know the love of God and to spend eternity with Him after a life lived in His service.  I have never been prouder than when each of my children grew into a faith of their own.  Getting to baptize both of them was truly the most important thing I have ever done as a father.  If I never do anything else right, I have succeeded in my main goal as a father.

I am sure that when my time on earth is over, whether I ran 3 or 10 or any marathons will be long forgotten.  But prayerfully, what I have done and will do as a father to my children will be a legacy that is passed on to generation after generation that follows.

There can be no higher honor as a father than to have it said of you that you were a man of God and a father who showed your children the path to Him.

Now go call your father and wish him a happy Father’s Day. 🙂

Happy running and Father’s Day,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Nice. I hope you had a blessed day. I’m sure you did.

    • Thanks for dropping by and your kind words. Yes, I did have a great Father’s Day! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

