Posted by: rundadrun | April 26, 2010

Sometimes you just need a “Fun Run”!

I will be the first to admit that I have a habit of turning fun things like a family board game or a game of Mini Golf into the final game of the World Series.  I know that I shouldn’t, and I try not to, but it happens more often than I like to admit.  I am the same way when I go out running.  I have the hardest time just going out and enjoying a run without turning it into some kind of competition with myself.  This kind of attitude has its place, but it has a way of ruling my life.  I tend to get so caught up in the competing that I can sometimes ruin the fun of a simple game for those around me, namely my family.  I am working on this, but I am definitely a work in progress.

But today, I was able to leave Mr. Must Win at home and go for a fun run with my daughter and her friend.  I had so much fun just running, and walking, and giggling along at a leisurely pace.  We talked, and laughed and I got all caught up on the 6th grade news.  Before you knew it, we were back at home and I immediately realized that I just ran 3 miles without worrying that I wasn’t hitting my goal pace or even thinking about my goal pace.  What an awesome time we had! All because I wasn’t worried about how much time it was taking.

I started thinking about the fact that a time is coming when I won’t be able to spend that kind of time with my little girl.  Soon she will be too fast for dad, or not interested in running with her dad, or just grown up and gone.  What a blessing times like this are.  I am reminded of Jesus’ words to His disciples when they tried to keep the children from “bothering” Him.  Matthew 19:14 says:

“Let the little children comes to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of Heaven belongs to such as these.”

We can learn a lot from children. I know I did tonight.  Going for a run can be fun! It doesn’t have to have a specific training strategy attached to it. You CAN giggle once in a while when you are running. 🙂  Imagine that.

I will continue to be competitive. It is just a part of who I am.  And it has a good side as well.  I will still be a slave to my training plan when I am training for a race.  But I will continue to strive to just have fun once in a while and not always have that “gotta win” attitude that makes me SO MUCH FUN to be around at times.

So, here’s to being a kid.  I hope I can continue to try to just have fun sometimes when I run… and in life.

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. That is absolutely wonderful! I’m glad you enjoyed yourself and were able to spend time with your daughter!!

    • Thanks! It was quite enjoyable. I probably need to schedule it into my training plans. 🙂

  2. That sounds like a great way to run. I’m sure your daughter enjoyed herself very much as well. What great memories you are making.

    • Thanks Jess. I am sure I will cherish these times forever.

  3. I love this post. It’s so refreshing to just run for fun sometimes. Sometimes I purposely leave the garmin at home so I can just enjoy the company of my running buddies. I am so glad you were able to enjoy this experience with your daughter.

    • Thanks for stopping by. I do have a hard time with leaving the “toys” at home. But it is well worth it to have such quality times with my daughter.
      Happy running,
      Rundad


Leave a Reply

Categories

