Posted by: rundadrun | April 24, 2010

Life can be a relay

Next weekend I return to my roots.  I am running one leg of the Cincinnati Flying Pig Marathon Relay. Five years ago a friend of mine and I decided we wanted to train for and run the Flying Pig Marathon Relay.  I had just started back into running after a long layoff, and splitting the 26.2 miles into 4 “easy” payments seemed like a fun way to re-enter the racing world.  It was such an amazing and inspiring experience that I decided I would make the 2006 Flying Pig my first marathon.  I can’t even describe how I felt walking around the expo the day before the relay, but it had a lot to do with me wanting to come back the next year and run the “whole hog”.

I have since run the full at the Pig twice and run 2 half marathons there as well.  It has become a family event for the Rices.  But I don’t think I would have been so driven to keep coming back if I had tried to run the whole thing that first year.  There are times when you just need to admit that you can’t do something alone.  Life is one of those times.

I didn’t come to Christ all by myself.  The baton of faith was passed to me by my parents.  It was handed to them by my mom’s parents.  In fact, it was my mother who brought my father to Christ.  I have since made my faith my own. I was carried along through my youth by a faithful  family, but the time came when I had to decide for myself to keep running.  I had to take the faith that had been passed to me and move forward from there.  There have been times (okay, almost every day), that I have had to get help from my wife, friends, or even my children.  But in the end, I have to decide every day that my relationship with God is the most important thing in my life, and all other things flow from that.

I cannot always run the whole race by myself. I need the love and support of those around me.  One of my favorite things at races is the support that you get from the crowd.  I have been at the end of my rope physically in races (every marathon has these moments for me), and someone in the crowd or a volunteer on the course, or another fellow runner, has given me just the right word of encouragement to waddle on and finish.  I have tried to provide that kind of encouragement to my fellow runners when they needed it also.  It just makes it a better world when we pick each other up.

So, as you look at the race that is your life, don’t forget that you have teammates around to help you along.  Maybe someone ran the first leg of the race for you and you are being blessed by that.  Maybe you are the one running that leg for someone else.  Just remember, this life is not a sprint. It is a marathon, and we have to keep on running.  But we are in for such a post race party!  Beats green bananas and a finishers medal any day. 🙂

So, if you are looking to get into a race, try a relay. And if you are running the Good Race, the same applies. 🙂

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Great post! Really applies to what I am going through both in my track season and my relationship with God. Thank you so much for this post! Maybe I will post my experience with God on my blog tomorrow to encourage fellow runners/believers as you have done me, so don’t be surprised if you get a trackback =). Thank you

    • Thank you Ken for the kind words. I am glad the post was helpful. I have a son who is your age and is also running track right now. I know that it can be tough being a Christian in high school. I look forward to reading about your walk with God. Don’t be ashamed! I got a little negative feedback when I started talking about my faith in my blog, but it has been very much worth it. God bless and keep it up. By the way, you are posting some great times for a freshman!

  2. This is exactly what I’ve been thinking about for the last several weeks and months, hence my new theme for life: Run 2 Win. I’ve been thinking about how running and training for and running marathons can relate to our spiritual walk (or marathon) with God. Simple things like maintaining joy, being surrounded by others who will keep me accountable and stay on track and not give up.
    “Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.” ~ 1 Corinthians 9:24-27

    • Great verse. I actually saw that verse today along the side of the Cincinnati Flying Pig Marathon. I love that verse. Great thoughts. Thanks for coming by.
      Happy running,
      Rundad


Leave a Reply

Categories

