Posted by: rundadrun | April 14, 2010

Just know when to shut up. :)

One of the blessings of my job in sales is that I get to travel to some great places.  And as I have posted about before, one of the best ways to see a place is to run there.  A lot of times, I get in late and my running in a new place consists of getting to explore the “Fitness Center” at the local Fairfield Inn.  But sometimes I get things finished in time to get out and check out the local running trails.  That was the case today when I got into Huntington, WV in time to go out for a run along a beautiful crushed limestone trail not far from Marshall University.  Running along a small creek, past beautiful old homes and under the amazing spring colors of Dogwoods in bloom. I wish I had a better grasp of the local flora and fauna, because it was beautiful.  It was also quite laden with pollen, and I needed a big hit of antihistamine when I got back to the hotel.  Well worth the suffering.

As I listened to my footfalls crunching on the crushed limestone, I used the time to pray about all the things that I forget to pray about when I am wrapped up in myself.  I was able to just run and talk to God and basically forget that I was running.  Every once in a while, I would look at my Garmin and realize that the miles were flying by, and I was really just enjoying the quiet time.  I tend to let everything in life get in the way of just being quiet and talking to God.  I love how God can use a routine run to humble me with the beauty His creation and impress me with my need to spend some time with Him. It reminded me of the song we used to sing when I was a teenager. “Be Still and Know That I am God”.  I always associate that song with late night devotionals in Yosemite Valley. There are so many times that I just need to follow my father-in-law’s timeless advice and “Just know when to shut up”.  It seems like the times when I just stop making noise, God let’s me hear what I need to hear.  But, I am an ignorant  man so often, and think I need to fill the silence with my infinite wisdom.  Like I said, I can’t be ignorant at times.

But today I was blessed with a great lesson in spending some time talking to my Father. And it just happened to include a great run. It’s amazing what you can learn if you just stop talking.

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Thanks – I have difficulty concentrating enough to pray while running – the sound of my feet pounding the pavement is hard to ignore. I usually blast out the plodding with my iPod. I will try again though – thanks

  2. I liked the crunchy sound on the limestone. I remember your aversion to “footsounds”. 🙂

  3. Great blog, so true- It made me realize that I fill my quiet time too often w music in my ears- gonna work on that! Thx

    • I love music at times too. I guess we all need to unplug once in a while. I also feel like you can use your music choices to help your quiet time as well. Happy running, whether plugged or unplugged. 🙂
      Rundad

  4. Beautiful….

  5. This post is very much an inspiration…thank you!

    • Thank you. I am glad I can help. God bless and happy running.

  6. Thanks for that reminder. I’ve been practicing listening while I run, too.

    • Thank you for stopping by. Happy running.


Leave a Reply

Categories

