Posted by: rundadrun | April 9, 2010

Look into your sole (or soul)

While on a run with my brother last week, he said something that got stuck in my head as a topic for a post.  He was wondering if he was wearing the right shoes and asked me if I could “take a look at his soles” when we got back home.  At first, I was struck by the humor of looking into his sole vs. his soul.  Then, because I am sick this way, I started thinking about all the analogies I could put together based on the sole versus soul analogy. So, pardon my puns, but here we go.

The soles of our shoes tell us a lot about how and where we have been running.  The wear pattern can tell you what kind of stride you have and if  you need more or less support. The stuff that sticks to the bottom of our shoes tends to tell us what we have been running in, especially if it is foul-smelling.  All of this information can help us determine whether we need a new or different pair of shoes to get the most out of our running.

The same can be said of our SOUL.  I will be the first to admit that there are times that I don’t look at my own soul often enough to keep it healthy.  It is damaged by the things I watch on TV, the internet and all around me in the world.  If I would just pay attention to how and where I have been living, and be more careful about where I go, I would have a much healthier soul. And a healthy soul makes for a much better life.

I know that it helps me with my shoe health to have someone who knows more about shoes than I do take a look at my soles from time to time.  I love taking my old shoes to Fleet Feet and watching my shoe guru read my soles like a golfer reads a green.  I know it sounds silly, but I am always amazed at what he can tell me from looking at my shoes.

I know that there have been many times in my life when I have had to have a friend who is wiser than I am (pretty big pool of people there) take a look at my life and give me advice.  I am always amazed at how getting someone else’s perspective can help so much when it comes to life’s little troubles.  I am a firm believer in Mentoring. I have grown so much from the wise counsel of an older person who has been there before.  I also have grown from being the older advice giver, although the advice is somewhat suspect at times. 🙂

So, if your legs are feeling a little beat up, take a look at your soles, or have an expert take a look for you. And if you are a barefoot runner, by all means, GUARD YOUR SOLES! 🙂  If your heart is feeling a little beat up, it may help to take a close look at your SOUL. And there is nothing wrong with having an expert help you there either.  Two are sometimes better than one when it comes to soul-searching.

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. I’m not used to hearing such wisdom from the younger brother :o) Well put

    • Hey, that is younger, TALLER brother. Thanks Gary.

  2. What wise words. 🙂 I appreciate posts such as this one. Lot’s to learn from just one word, or wordS. 🙂

    • Thank you for stopping in and the kind words.
      Happy running,
      Rundad

  3. I love this post. The parallels are amazing. I feel the same way about mentoring. While my experience with mentoring may not be lengthy I have quickly realized that those who are wiser than I can often shed light down a path that is not often well lit, and sometimes, they may cast that same light into areas of my soul that were otherwise filled with darkness. It’s an unexpected surprise to get advice that just makes everything “click” and fall into place – even though the purpose for seeking advice was not the same reason. I will have to blog about this.
    Thanks for this post. Keep them coming.

    • Thank you Lauren for the encouraging words. It is nice to think that the struggles we go through today may help us help someone else later. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Thanks! So important to have those people in your life….for the souls and the soles 🙂 Nicely stated.

    • Thank you. I appreciate the visit to the blog. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

