Posted by: rundadrun | April 7, 2010

Runs in the family

I thought I would miss blogging while I took a little time off for a visit with my brother, but I was too busy enjoying his visit to really pay much attention.  But now that I am back to writing, I realize that I miss just sitting down and writing my thoughts.  I had a great time with my brother, and we got to enjoy running together for the first time since childhood. It is funny to me that we both came to love running in the years that we have lived on opposite sides of the country.  Gary never really made fun of my addiction to running, but I think that he was just being polite. 🙂  Now, he is training for his first marathon and we got a chance to get out and run together.

We got to get out 5 times and I enjoyed every mile…except for the 3 we ran too soon after eating a large Mexican food lunch. 🙂 Viva la’ nausea!  But outside of a little gastronomic distress x 2, we had a great time.  We even got to take my 11 year old daughter Kaylee out with us the last night he was here.  It is very humbling to have to tell your daughter to slow down for daddy and Uncle Gary. What a blessing to get to share a run with my brother and my daughter.

I truly enjoyed the time I spent with my brother. It has been hard to get together much for the last 20 years because of the miles between us.  It was an added bonus that we got to run together while he was here.  The health benefits we have both gotten from our running has been a blessing to both of us.  I love the fact that my children are getting to see dad and their Uncle Gary both out doing something positive for our health.  But what is so much more important to me is that my children got to see their dad and Uncle worshiping together and  trying to honor God in all they do.  There can be no better legacy than to instill in our children a lifelong Faith in God.  No matter what else I do as a father, this is my main goal in life!

So, thank you Gary for coming out and visiting. I enjoyed the runs and the time we got to spend together. I plan on sharing some of the things I learned while we ran this last week in future posts.  I look forward to the next time we can get together and lace them up.

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Man that is great! What a blessing to be able to share a run across generations. The weather has been awesome to hit the streets again lately too.

    • The weather has been great. Good hearing from you.

  2. Nice post. Glad you are back to blogging.

  3. That is great that you got to run with your brother and your daughter. I too live in Ohio and am training for my first marathon and was wondering if it would be okay if I added you to my bloglist.

    • I would love for you to add me to your bloglist. Thank you. Good luck with your marathon. Which one are you running? Flying Pig? It is a great race.
      Happy running,
      Rundad

  4. Thank you. I am running the Cleveland Marathon actually. I am running the Pittsburgh 1/2 Marathon as a training run on May 2nd (same day as Flying Pig I believe).

  5. Wow, he seems so much taller than you – must be the older brother

    • Camera angle trickery!


Leave a Reply

Categories

