Posted by: rundadrun | March 24, 2010

Health reform we can all benefit from.

Notice that I left the word “care” off the end of health.  I have no intention of turning this into a political battle.  Whether you are on the right side of the aisle or the left, or somewhere in between, you can benefit from the health reform that I am proposing.  In fact, if more of us would reform our health, we would have less need for healthcare of the medical variety.

It is not a new concept to say that the better we take care of ourselves, the less we will need to be taken care of by our friends in the medical field.  I remember as a kid going through the President’s Fitness Program.  I have to admit, it seemed really easy to me back then.  As a kid, I ran everywhere I went. And I was not unusual.  But we see more and more evidence today of a general disregard for our fitness.   I know it is easy to point fingers, but it seems like there are a lot more things available to keep us from getting out and getting active.  I know it makes me sound old, but I would never have dreamed of sitting in front of the TV for hours at a time either watching TV or playing video games.  Of course, one reason was that there was just not that much to hold my attention in the 70’s and 80’s when I was growing up.  Let’s face it, there is only so much PONG you can play before you lose your mind and run outside to play. 🙂 And with 3 TV channels available, there wasn’t always something on.  Of course, with 200 channels, that still holds true. 🙂

But as I see it, I only have this one body. God blessed me with it, and it is my job to keep it in good shape until He decides I am done with it.  I love the Steve Prefontaine quote, ” To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the Gift”. If you believe like I do that the Gift was given by God, it becomes even more important to give our best.

So, as I have said before in other posts, if you can’t run, walk. If you can’t walk, just get up and move.  We can reform our own health.  We all know someone who has turned their health around. For me, it is several people. My older brother is off all his diabetes meds and training for his first marathon. I have several friends, as well as myself, who have lowered their cholesterol, blood pressure, weight and need for all manner of medicine. How did they do this? One step at a time, literally.

Is this a cure for all things evil? No.  But I choose to work on what I can, and trust in God for the rest. I know that the life that is in me now is much more full and enjoyable than my life before I started paying attention to my fitness.

So, whether you agree or disagree with what has been going on in Washington, DC lately, do what you can to reform your one health situation.  You may not add days to your life, but you will add life to your days.

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Great post. I’ve been sending out a lot of Tweets about my Personal Health Care Reform. I still use the word “care” because I’m caring for myself. I use the tag #myhcr (my health care reform) in hopes it will catch on an become a trending topic. I would love for people to Tweet about their daily exercise routine and tag it #myhcr.

    • I don’t tweet, but I will try to follow your posts. Thanks.

  2. Well said.

    • Thank you David. I appreciate you dropping by.


Leave a Reply

Categories

