Posted by: rundadrun | March 20, 2010

What a beautiful day for a comeback!

Today was a comeback of sorts for me.  It was my first run in nearly a week.  I spent most of this week thinking that I had a stress fracture in my right foot.  Needless to say, I was not looking forward to 6-8 weeks off from running.  But it gave me a chance to look at things outside of running a little more closely.  Not to say that I am obsessed with my running, but there are times when it does tend to color everything else in my life.

I got to thinking, what if I can’t run in the upcoming Flying Pig half marathon?  How much is this time off going to cost me in my fitness and my overall health?  Can I be happy as a cyclist? (Heaven forbid). But then I stepped back from that self-induced pity ledge and realized that even though running is very important to me, it is not what life is all about. It is not what makes me the dad that I need to be. It is not what makes me the husband that I promised to be almost 18 years ago. It is also not what makes me the man that God has called me to be.  But, it does contribute to what I am and I know that it has had a lot to do with the person I am today.

With all that being said, I need to keep all things, including my running, in perspective.  God has blessed me in so many ways, and being able to get out and enjoy running through His creation is one of those blessings.  Thinking of losing that, even for a few weeks, got me down.  But when I think about all the things that are more important, it tends to get my head back where it should be.  In fact today I was going over a Power Point presentation that I will be giving next week to a group of school kids. It is to show them how the money they donated to “Hope for Haiti’s Children” was being put to use.  As I looked at the slides, I was very moved by how little these children in Haiti had BEFORE the earthquake, and how they were happy with the basic needs that were being given to them because of a group of kids their age they will probably never meet, in a part of the world they will probably never visit.  And here I was worrying about not getting to run in a race in a couple of months!  I was shamed into an understanding that what I see as important really pales in comparison to what is TRULY important.

I will continue to love running. I will continue to love what it does for my health.  But I really needed to have things put back in perspective.  I thank God that He gives me these little reminders now and then.  I pray that I will be able to see them for what they are and be better able to keep all things in my life in their proper place.  So, if you have a moment, say a prayer for the kids in Haiti, maybe while you are out running, and remember how richly we are blessed.

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. It’s funny, I’ve been training for my 1st half since December now and completely made running a priority. Sometimes I wonder if I’ve put other things aside for my new passion but then I also think how great running and having this goal for myself has been for me. I’m glad my first race will also be for an important cause and as I’m struggling with my miles I can remember that I’m also doing it for the children of Africa that I raised money for while training. Great post.

    • Thanks and good luck in your first half. Racing for a cause is a great way to help prioritize things. Thanks for helping your cause. 🙂
      Happy running,
      Rundad

  2. A friend and I did a 10-miler yesterday (until then I always ran alone). We were talking about our years of being out of shape and how so many folks still choose not to exercise. We agreed that here we are with God-given arms and legs that work, and for years we chose to be sedentary. We now view running and other exercise as a means of keeping our bodies/temples in solid shape. I agree with you that proper perspective is important. Balance is key.
    Glad you had a great comeback run!

    • Thanks for the comment. I totally agree that we can praise God with our running. I know for me, balance really is the key, like you said.

  3. Hate to hear about your foot. I find running puts life into perspective for me. The time to myself to prepare for the day. The peace it gives me. The ability to deal with others, seeing as I have time to focus during my run. I have gotten back into the mode where running is fun for me again and it is helping in other phases of my life. Good running tomorrow.

    • Thanks for dropping by the blog. I do a lot of thinking for my job and life on the run too. Thanks again and happy running.

  4. Thanks for writing this- I really needed to read it!!! I DO have a stress fracture in my foot & I’m in a boot for a few weeks. But, hey, I can still ride, swim, and pool run 🙂 I agree, we all need a wake up call sometimes to get the balance back. ..and now I’m feeling guilty for skipping church this weekend! HA! praying for all kids & runners 🙂

    • Thanks for dropping by. Good luck with the foot. Keep up on that cross training and get back to church. 🙂 God bless and happy running.

  5. Thank you for the inspiration! In faith and in running 🙂

    • Thank you for dropping by my blog. I am glad I could inspire you. 🙂

  6. Glad you’re feeling better and will be able to do the marathon. But it is great that God gives us chances to rest and reflect every once in a while, isn’t it? He knows what we need better than we do! I’m enjoying your blog! Oh, and when you finish the race, have some Skyline and Graeter’s for me – Cincy’s where my parents are from!

    • Thanks for the encouragement. I will definitely go to Graeters for you, but I have already used up my yearly trip to Skyline. 🙂 I do love Graeter’s!


Leave a Reply

Categories

