Posted by: rundadrun | March 7, 2010

I get by with a little help from my friends.

After a couple of weeks off due to illness, I finally got out and ran yesterday. I must admit that having taken so much time off, I was really getting down about my running, or lack there of. I was beginning to feel almost depressed over the lack of running. Isn’t it amazing how something can become such a part of our life that when it is gone, we struggle in its absence? It was getting to the point where I was feeling guilty writing about running, when I wasn’t running myself!

I was quite happy that I was able to get out and run a nice easy 6 miler and not die! To be out in the sunshine again (after months of cold and snow), was a real blessing.  It was just good to get out and enjoy God’s creation. It helped a lot to have a friend along to share my re-entry into the running world.  I really doubt that I would have gone out if I didn’t have a partner  to go out with.

I am often in the same boat when it comes to my walk with God.  I take a day or two off from spending time with my Father in prayer, and the next thing I know, it has been a couple of weeks.  I start feeling farther and farther away from my faith, and next thing I know, I just feel alone. What a blessing to have such good Christian friends who keep me sharp. I love the wisdom in Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

Two are better than one,

because they have a good return for their work:

If one falls down,

his friend can help him up.

But pity the man who falls,

and has no one to help him up!

Those words just hit the heart of the matter when it comes to keeping strong in my faith. Without my brothers and sisters in Christ, who knows if I would have gotten back up after the world had knocked me down.  What a blessing to be surrounded by such awesome fellow Christians!

So, whether it is something as simple as getting back out on the road, or as important as going through a low spot in your walk with God, we all need a strong Christian friend, or spouse if you are as blessed as I am :). It sure makes those down times a lot easier to bounce back from.

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. I skipped a couple runs this week and felt awful. Lots of doubts about myself and my running. It seems obvious, but the best thing for it is to get out and run. My “back to running” run wasn’t much for the books, but it was enough to get me back into the groove.

    • Yea but you got a 10 miler in! WTG Doug!

  2. I am glad you got out and ran! An easy 6 miler in the sun with a friend sounds great. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

