Posted by: rundadrun | March 2, 2010

Milestones and Safety Razors

This has been a week of milestones in my house. We celebrated 10 years as homeowners, and 11 years in Ohio last night. It seems like yesterday that we loaded everything we owned in a Ryder truck in Seattle and started our week-long trek across the country. That is a long story unto itself, but suffice it to say you should never take the northern route across our beautiful country in the winter time.

We also celebrated the 13th anniversary of my being tobacco free. I was completely and totally addicted to my Copenhagen habit. And to make matters worse, I took up smoking to try to quit dipping. That is not a great way to go about it by the way. I was amazed when I found out yesterday that I have saved between $15,000 and $25,000 in the last 13 years! I never really looked at it until yesterday. What an amazing waste of money tobacco is!  I can honestly tell you, I have NEVER had a single craving since the moment I quit. I used the “Smokenders” program and I would recommend it to anyone who is ready to kick the habit.

The last milestone is a very personal one to me and my son. I asked his permission to post about it because I didn’t want to embarrass him. But last night, as we prepared to go out and celebrate these anniversaries and my wife’s birthday, I taught my son how to shave. I know this may not seem like a big deal to some people, but it touched my heart in a big way. Just over 15 years ago, I brought home a tiny baby boy, and last night, a young man step out of the bathroom with a grin on his freshly shaven face.  I find it hard to believe that he is now more of a man than a child.  I have seen him mature in so many ways over the last few years, and this just put a real face to his growing up.

I never cease to be amazed at how God blesses me. I am reminded of this every time I look at my kids, my wife, and my life in general. But these little milestones and anniversaries just drive home the fact that there is a LOT more good in my life than bad.

I don’t know how my life would have turned out if I had not quit tobacco. But I do know that my quality of life would not have been anywhere near what it is now.  My children have gotten to grow up with a smoke free family, and that is enough of a reason to have given it up. I will never regret giving up tobacco!

I am looking forward to many more anniversaries in my life. That is one of the reasons that I have dedicated myself to a healthier life as a runner. I want to be around to teach my grandchildren to shave and celebrate 20,30…50 years of being tobacco free. I can’t wait!

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Congratulations on all your anniversaries and celebrations! Tobacco free is indeed a beautiful thing.
    I have written about my teen-aged son, also with permission. Our children are forever a part of our lives and their milestones leave such lovely imprints on our memories. What a blessing!
    Nice blog entry-
    Best,
    Elizabeth

    • Thank you very much Elizabeth. My kids are the biggest reason for quitting. I don’t want them ever to see it as an okay thing, and that begins with me.
      Happy running,
      Rob(Rundad)

  2. Congrats on the milestones! I didn’t know you were from Ohio — that’s where my in-laws are.

    • Thanks David. I am in the Cincinnati area, where are you in-laws?

      • They’re across the state, just north of Youngstown. Too bad, or else we could have met up on a visit!

  3. WOW! Congratulations on each and every milestone. What a wonderful story to tell those grandkids! Congratulations again.

    • Thanks Aaron. And thanks for tweeting it. Maybe I need to look into this tweet thing. 🙂

  4. Hopped over here from a tweet by Aaron. Wow–what a great series of milestones!! Congrats!! Very cool!

    • Thank you Rindy. It has been a great week. 🙂

  5. Congratulations on every milestone! What a testement to you will and God’s grace. You are a inspiration…thank you! Congratulations again.

    • Thank you very much Darren. Definitely God’s grace, not my will. God bless.

  6. Rob, I too am impressed by the young man your son has become. We are so blessed to have you herein Cinci.

    • Thank yo very much Doug. It has been a joy watching your kids grow up as well. God bless.

  7. congrats on kicking the habit! I admire anyone who can fall into that trap and have the strength to climb back out again. I used to be a smoker too and it’s still baffles me that people have abandoned their basic instinct to survive in favor of smoking. We are unique as humans in that we can choose to intentionally do harm to our bodies — example: you don’t see gazelles in the wild taunting lions and eating poison berries to get high and such…but, as you have proven we still have the potential to be incredible too!

    • Thanks Marie. And I agree that we are truly unique as humans. God has blessed me so much and I still tend to try to mess that up with my life choices at times. I could preach a sermon on that topic, but I will spare you. 🙂 Thanks again and congrats on your own victory over tobacco.
      Happy running,
      Rundad

  8. just found your blog through a friend. i’m NOT a runner, but should be 🙂
    i love the shaving story! my husband quit dipping when we got married. it was hard for me to see someone i love under the control of anything other than the holy spirit and i knew that if he dipped our (possibly future) boys would, too. but it was something he’d always thought he’d do with his son hunting or airboating, so it was hard for him to give up. but, as your post shows, there are so many other “rite of passage” things to share with your son. thanks for the post!
    next time he’s jonesin’ for a dip, i’ll have to have him total up how much he’s saved!

    • Thanks for the kind comment. I am happy to see how many people are sharing their quitting stories with me. I still have my lip checked everytime I have a physical, but it is so nice to know that I have gotten that part of my life behind me. Now if I could only get my wife to let me spend some of that money I saved on something fun, I would have it made. 🙂
      Rundad


Leave a Reply

Categories

