Posted by: rundadrun | February 17, 2010

Can’t run, go play with your kids!

Do you remember how easy running nonstop was when you were a kid?  Playing tag when I was young was no problem. I could run around all day and not feel like I was going to die.  I wish I had that kind of fitness today!

Fast forward to being an adult and my workouts involve getting all the right layers on, pulling on my high tech socks, lacing up my Nike Air Volermo 4’s and setting up the Garmin 201.  Then, and only then, can I finally get out the door and actually RUN.  Don’t get me wrong, I love running and I don’t mind all the extra stuff it requires.

But, the recent snow storms in my area have made it nearly impossible to get out on the road, at least safely.  So, you do what you can with what you have.  Today, I geared up in my snow stuff, and hit the sledding hill with my wife and kids(and our Beagle Ginger). I made it a point to always run up the hill after my sled run, and I chased my kids and dog around in between runs.  I was not expecting it to be as good a workout as it was, but let me tell you, I was baked by the time the sun was setting.

On getting home, I took a little break and then began day one of the “100 Push-up Challenge”  Man,. that is a great workout!  I am feeling like my arms and chest have been abused.  I am looking forward to the next 6 weeks of this. 🙂

So, instead of giving up for the winter, I have decided that I WILL find something to replace the road mileage, even if it is shoveling snow or having a great big snowball fight and game of chase.

Sometimes acting like a kid is the best thing to perk up your workout!

Happy sledding,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Sounds like fun….. I especially like that you are all playing together as a family. Your kids will take those memories with them for their whole lives.

    It is so hot and humid here in Queensland Australia at the moment that it is a real effort for me to go outside and walk but I did go to gym this morning 🙂
    Kathie
    http://www.chamomilemassage.wordpress.com

    • My wife and I were talking about the memories after we got back. I enjoyed it a lot, and it was great to have the whole family together. I do envy the heat a little. I know how bad it can be on working out though. Good job getting to the gym.
      Happy running,
      Rundad

  2. Great thoughts friend! I’m so glad you dropped by the other day. It is going to be fun following your journey and gaining advice and wisdom from you as well.

    PS – I love Nike Vomero 4’s too! My last 2 pair have been Asics (Nimbus 11) but I think I might go back to Vomero soon.

    • Thanks Aaron. I have truly enjoyed your posts. Good luck on the HM coming up. Is that the Last Chance? God bless.
      Happy running,
      Rob or Rundad

  3. Enjoy the 100 push-ups challenge. I’ve started and re-started several times, and am currently on hold due to some elbow issues in a fall. Most people I know who have done it struggle around week 3 or 4.

    • I started at week 3 because the test told me too. 🙂 I am thinking about dropping back a week, since I could not get all the way to 20+ for my last set. This is humbling!
      Happy running,
      Rundad

      • I think it’s best to start at week 1 no matter what. Before I hurt my elbow, I restarted at week 1 column 3 and was feeling great when I was maxing at 20+ in the “first” week. Whenever I restart, it’ll be at week 1 no matter what my test says.

  4. That sounds like so much fun! Another idea is going outdoor skating with the kids. It’s also a lot of fun and an awesome workout!

    • Very true. I have skated with the family also. That brings in a whole nother set of muscles! We all had a blast, even the Beagle!
      Happy running,
      Rundad

  5. Sounds fun.. I was just thinking about the 100 push-up challenge today. I may try it again

  6. oooh, I wanna know more about this push-up challenge!

    • Google 100 push-up challenge and it is all laid out for you. Good luck.
      Rundad

  7. Good luck with the 100 push-up challenge! I tried it a few months ago. I made it through week 5. The test to see if you’re ready for week 6 was very hard for me, and then on the first day of week 6, I pretty much just didn’t raise after one of the pushups. I’ll revisit that soon!

    • It should be interesting. 🙂 Good luck with getting started again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

