Posted by: rundadrun | February 14, 2010

Healthy Hearts on Valentine’s Day

If I had to list all my reasons for getting and staying fit, on top of the list would be being around to see my kids and grandkids.  I know that if I had gone on living the way I was, I would probably not be around to dance with my daughter at her wedding, run with my son or grow old with the ONE woman who would have me. 🙂

On Valentine’s Day, I am reminded of the fact that I need to be here for a long time yet, and I need to keep myself in good enough shape to be here for a while.  I do not have the best genes. Heart problems and diabetes run in my family and I wanted to improve my odds as much as I could.

So, as you celebrate Valentine’s Day, take a look at the loved ones you have been blessed with, and make a commitment to be the healthiest you that you can be.  After all, maybe there is a dance out there waiting for you too.

Happy Valentine’s Day and happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Love this!

    It’s also congenital heart defect awareness day…

    • Thanks for the info. Kinda seems appropriate. 🙂

  2. I love this post! There are so many reasons to get in shape, but I think you pointed out the best one!!!

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog and saying a few kind words. Your post is quite good as well! A lot of people don’t seem to realize how much their health can affect others. It’s great to see that you have made the commitment to be around a long time!

    • Thanks for your kind words as well. We have a lot to stick around for.
      Happy running,
      Rundad

  4. Very inspirational, thank you!

  5. What a great post!

  6. This is a great post and so true! I just read back to your first entry and I like what I’m reading, there are some great tips here! Happy running!

    • Thank you so much for the kinds remarks. I appreciate your reading along.
      Happy running,
      Rundad

  7. Great post! I completely agree that being fit is not always a selfish act. Especially when you have a family of your own. Cute dance picture by the way. :). Thanks for stopping by and saying hello. I look forward to reading more of your blogs as well. Keep dancing and happy running!

    Kimberly

    • Thanks for the kind words. I love that pic too. It reminds me of when my little girl was really little. Feel free to check in any time.
      Happy running,
      Rundad

  8. You hit it right on the head. That is exactly why we try to stay healthy by running.

    • Thanks for the kind words. We have some great reasons to stick around.
      Happy running,
      Rundad


Leave a Reply

Categories

