Posted by: rundadrun | January 20, 2010

Biggest Loser and the reality of weight loss.

Let me start this off by saying my family and I watch “Biggest Loser” and I am must say it is like watching a train wreck. You want to look away, but you just can’t seem to. That being said, there is a lot about the show that scares, sickens, bothers and downright offends me at times.  I know that we only see what they want us to through the magic of editing, but the whole concept of “crash” weight loss scares me.  I know one of the things we don’t see is the medical interaction that takes place behind the scenes.  These people are constantly checked and monitored to make sure that this is done as safely as possible.

But what strikes me most about this show is something my son Matt said last night.  We were all sitting around watching the weigh in and he said “you know, I was thinking about eating the rest of the cherry dump cake until I saw this, now I don’t think I want to”.  This is I think one of the most positive things that will come from this show.  I should say that my son is VERY fit and doesn’t need to worry about a few extra calories that he will run off tomorrow at track practice.  But we all talked about the fact that these people are fighting a battle that we can avoid before it starts.  If we are careful about what we eat when we are young, we will be less likely to end up with the life threatening  problems the people on this show are dealing with.

Another thing that never fails to happen for me when I watch BL is that I always end up doing my sit-ups, push-ups and core work during the commercials.  This has been  a very positive thing. I always tell people that you don’t have to run a marathon your first day of getting fit. In fact, that is exactly the recipe to hurt yourself and never come back to working out.  But the main thing is ALL of us can get up and move!  I challenge you to spend the time during commercials to get up and do SOMETHING.

If you can’t run right now, walk. If you can’t walk, do leg lifts from a chair. But MOVE. Every step you take now is a step in the right direction.  When you get to a place where you can do more, let me know and I would be happy to send you a plan for your next step.

Remember, the secret to the Biggest Loser (besides masterful editing), is that a body in motion tends to stay in motion. It is all about getting moving. Conversely, a body at rest tends to stay at rest. And let me tell you, the longer it rests, the harder it is to get it moving again. I am reminded of a car stuck in the mud.

So, let’s get off the couch and get moving. Use those commercial breaks as mini “last chance workouts” and STEP AWAY FROM THE CHERRY DUMPCAKE!

Happy running,

Rundad

Responses

  1. So true Rob- haha I did leg lifts while reading your blog entry! Great points!

    • Thanks Kevin. Nothing like multi-tasking!


Leave a Reply

Categories

