Posted by: rundadrun | January 16, 2010

Running to deal with the terrible events in Haiti.

I have to admit, I have no interest in writing about running.  My family has been watching the news and following the internet trying to find out if the little boy we sponsor in Haiti has survived the earthquake.  He lives in the poorest part of Port au Prince, Citi Soleil.  All we know at this point is that his home, which was rebuilt last year after the hurricanes wiped out his old one, has been flattened.  We have no word about him or his family.  It puts everything in perspective when you see such utter devastation.  It seems real selfish to think about running when little Alex is possibly hurt or worse.

One of the things I do when nothing seems to work because of worrying about life’s tragedy is to use my running time to pray and think about it.  This may not be right for you, but when I get out alone running, I have an easier time talking to God and letting him have my worries.  I don’t want to get too preachy, but it really helps me deal.  In the past when I have had friends who were battling cancer or going through something difficult,  it has done my heart good to dedicate a few miles of prayer time to whatever the problem is.  Again, if this isn’t how you deal with things, feel free to skip this post, but I know that for me, sometimes it is the only thing that keeps me sane.

So if you don’t mind, please say a prayer for Alex and his family and all those affected by this week’s terrible earthquake. Feel free to follow what has been going on @ http://www.hopeforhaitischildren.org.  And please, if you have money to give, GIVE to one of the many quality charities such as Hope for Haiti’s Children.

Remember, there is nothing wrong with going out for your regular run if that is how you deal with the stress these kind of things bring all of us. And it is a great time to have a little “higher purpose” to you run.

God bless,

Rundad

Responses

  1. Very inspiring. Thank you.

    • Thanks Jennifer. Keep praying and I will keep everyone posted on little Alex.


Leave a Reply

Categories

