Posted by: rundadrun | January 13, 2010

Staying Motivated even in the worst of winter

Probably one of the biggest struggles I face with my running is just staying motivated.  There are so many reasons to blow off a run that sometimes it is a real battle to get out the door.  Listening to a running friend of mine the other day(yes Doug, you are a runner:), made me realize that I am not alone in this.  I know that for me, I need something in front of me that gets me going.  I always try to have a goal race in the future that I am training for. Along with that, I make sure that I tell people about it so I am accountable to them. Lastly, I keep a very detailed runner’s log.  This is a big motivator for me, cause I never want to have too many blank days in a row.

I can honestly say that once I am running, I never regret the decision to head out.  I LOVE the feeling I get being out there.  Yesterday’s run was no exception. I went out in the morning and it was cold. The wind chill was 10 and I felt it.  But once I got going, I really felt glad I was out.  As the miles clicked away, I started thinking about adding a couple of miles to my planned 5 miler.  I even got to help a woman find and catch her runaway dog, so if you believe in karma, I am ahead of the game. 🙂

I think that the bad weather has actually become a motivation for me to get out in a sick kinda way.  I have the right gear, so it isn’t that bad, even in the single digits.  But I find myself thinking, “I bet I am one of the only people dedicated enough(read STUPID ENOUGH) to be out here in a -3 degree windchill.  I pride myself in telling friends about the time my training partner and I went 17 miles in 0 degrees with a -17 windchill! I guess that is kinda sick. I am officially in the “More Miles Than Degrees” Club.

But I think the main thing to remember is that we can either use things as excuses for not going out, or we can use them as motivation TO go out.  I chose conquering over quitting every time. 🙂

Happy running,

Rundad

PLEASE DON’T TRY RUNNING IN EXTREME COLD WITHOUT THE PROPER PROTECTIVE CLOTHING ON, AS IT CAN BE VERY DANGEROUS.

Leave a Reply

Categories

