Posted by: rundadrun | January 7, 2010

Welcome To Rundad! The running and fitness site for the “rest” of us.

This site is intended to be a place where the non-elite runner can come and hopefully learn a little about the activity that we love.  I guess one way to start off Rundad is to explain a little about why I started it in the first place.

About 5 years ago, I finally got fed up with being lazy and out of shape. I had been a competitive runner in high school and a soccer player in college, but had not done anything to improve my health and fitness in a LONG time.  The day that I had to start taking a deep breath before bending over to tie my shoes, I finally said “enough”.  I began what is now quite an obsession with me(just ask my wife). 🙂 I love running and love talking about it and helping other people to love it too.

I had a couple of false starts, which if I had known what I know now, may not have happened. But I finally found a great starting plan(more on that later) and have not looked back. Fast forward to now, and I have run 3 marathons, 5 half marathons, and many races of shorter lengths. I began to notice that I was getting asked running questions all the time by people at church and during my work day.  This got me thinking that maybe it would be fun to start a blog where I could share some of the things I have learned and continue to learn with others who are in the same boat.

As I continue to learn about blogging, I will be posting on different subject that are running(and sometimes walking) related.  Some of these will cover things like starting plans, shoes, injuries(sorry, had to be said), weather and all manner of other things.  I would love suggestions, and will try to address any questions quickly.  Later I hope to include a video aspect to this and maybe build a website that will have more content included.

So, if you are thinking about taking up running, or are maybe already a road warrior with the black toenails to prove it, I hope you will join in and enjoy Rundad.

Thanks for your time and get out there and get moving,

Rob

Please note: I am not a doctor, and I have no degree in anything remotely qualifying me to give medical advice. I am an amateur enthusiast and you should check with your doctor before beginning any workout program. Sorry , but had to say it.

Responses

  1. Glad you’re writing, Rob. Looking forward to following your posts.

    • Thanks Doug. Feel free to share it with running friends. I will try to keep it updated as often as I can.

  2. Thanks for dropping by my blog — I’ve added you to my Google Reader feed so I can keep up with your posts!

    • Thanks David. Sounds like we have had some of the same experiences. Great blog and I have added it to my follow list.


Leave a Reply

Categories

