Posted by: rundadrun | July 11, 2013

And life goes on…

Sometimes life causes us to prioritize.  And for the last few months, posting to Rundad has taken a back seat to life, as it should.  But I have had so much going on that I want to share that it is time to start up again. 

When we last spoke, I was beginning my journey of getting my health back.  I had let myself go, and had become a full-blown type 2 diabetic.  The great news is, after losing close to 30 pounds and changing a lot of bad habits, I am now off all diabetes meds, blood pressure meds and I am happy to say that my glucose numbers are normal. God is good and so is my wonderful, supportive family. 

I have also been blessed to see my oldest child run in the Ohio State Track Championships in the 3200 Meters!  He did awesome and is now on his way to running in college!  Yes, that means my little boy also graduated high school.  Suddenly, I am the father of a college kid. We are so proud of the young man he has become, and are looking forward to seeing what the future holds.

As I write this, I am feeling so blessed to be where I am in life.  Is everything perfect?  NO!  But is God working with me where I am?  Most decidedly! 

One direction both my wife and I are being pulled is to help others who are struggling with their weight and their health.  We are NOT experts, far from it.  But as I have said before, I cannot count the number of people who have come to me since my diagnosis with type 2 and asked what I am doing.  My wife and I have talked and prayed about this for quite a while, and we have decided that it is time to allow God to use us to help others.  I hope to use my coaching skills and her nutritional knowledge to help encourage others in their pursuit of better health. So, prayers would be appreciated.

I hope you stick around and follow Rundad as I continue to attempt to share my journey as a husband,father, runner, coach and Christian. And I hope that if you are one of the millions that struggle to maintain your health, you will be an active participant with Rundad.  I promise not to be an extremist, scary diet pusher.  That is not what works for me, and I will not go there.

And as always, prayers for guidance are always appreciated.

Happy running,

Rundad


Responses

  1. Welcome back! You were in serious danger of falling off my blogroll as I have a strict “lose your spot if you don’t post for a year” policy.

    Ok, well, maybe not all that strict…Anyways, you don’t have to worry about it for a full year now!

    Happy running!
    Rusty

    • Thanks! That was actually a worry for me, that folks would forget me. And I don’t have enough followers to be losing any. 🙂

  2. Keep at it!


Leave a comment

Categories